We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning a Return Trip”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
So Cal
1 review
“Planning a Return Trip”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed here last year during Thanksgiving weekend. The price was great, location convenient, owners were very nice and accomodating. The coffee they serve at breakfast is wonderful, plenty of choices for a free Motel spread breakfast too. The rooms were very clean and comfy. Just perfect for a weekend getaway. We're planning on a return trip, no reason to take a chance on another place since we already know what to expect here and had a great experience. Highly recommend the Montery Surf Inn.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2RoadTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    87
    29
    30
See reviews for
82
184
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

For the price we paid, it was just right. It was close enough to everything (with a car). We spent a weekend in the area are we were able to hit all the major attractions including the aquarium, fisherman's warf, the beaches at carmel, a nice jog to pacific grove, ciopinno at Phil's Fish Market and even caught a flick at the theater across the street. Walls are a bit thin, and the piping is loud... But the room itself was very pleasant and newly remodeled.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank axnpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here for one night in Sep. The room was clean, modern furnishings with LCD TV, clean bath/shower and comfy beds. The only draw back was that the walls were paper thin! When next door used their bathroom, you could hear the water running through the pipes as if they were taking a shower right next to our bed! It was LOUD!! and when your neighbours wake up at 4am it's really did ruin a good night sleep!

Other than that, our stay was comfortable - close to the 17-mile drive start point and about 10min drive to main touristy bits in Monterey . T e accommadtion looked in much better shape than others around. Good buffet breakfast (though served in the small registration area) - make your own waffle machine, several cereal choices, fresh fruit/coffee and juice. I would stay here again, but only as a pass through stop (as we did).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Room had been recently refurbished to a good standard. Comfortable room with standard US motel layout, room door opens out onto parking area. Two large comfortable beds, microwave oven, large fridge and coffee maker in the room. Good base for expolring Monterey, a little out of town and on a busy main road which was surprisingly quiet at night.
Basic continental breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilotofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I was originally booked into the Howard Johnson next door but apparently both hotels are owened by the same people and we were offered a room here instead.

Room was clean with a new LCD TV. Free Wi-Fi was available.

Breakfast was basic but for the rate we got, it was an excellent stay and fantastic value for money.

Hotel was a little bit far to walk from Cannery Row so a car is definately needed but you wouldn't get this rate if you were closer to the seafront.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0bn0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The price for these rooms is excellent. It's within walking distance of downtown, The Wharf and Cannery Row. The rooms are spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is heated. It doesn't have ideal sound-proofing, but it was almost always quiet and the traffic is almost completely unnoticeable. I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Compared to other locations this hotel would be overpriced. It is older but well maintained. The property is a little awkward for some of the rooms and the plumbing can be noisy. But, this is Monterey where everything is overpriced. So, it is a reasonable value in an expensive area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
0.4 mi away
Villa Franca Inn
Villa Franca Inn
#32 of 56 in Monterey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing