We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We chose the Surf Inn because of its location and price, and were very happy with it. Service was good, the room was clean and comfortable, but we really enjoyed the make-your-won-waffles station in the morning as well as the heated swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    157
    82
    26
    28
See reviews for
81
172
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

You could tell they spent some money renovating this older hotel and it looks great. They have a nice flat screen TV, marble showers with good water pressure, the beds are comfortable. The location is perfect, within walking distance of a mall that houses PF Chang's and California Pizza Kitchen. The property is clean as are the rooms. The staff are very pleasant & helpful. They also give you a little souvenier, a Monterey shot glass - a nice little touch. I would definately recommend to family & friends and plan on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgianneb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

This is a well priced room within easy reach of downtown Monterey. The room was clean and although rather small contained all that was required for a short visit. The only complaint was that reception was not open 24 hours a day and therefore the complimentary breakfast could not be obtained prior to leaving at 0645.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed at the Surf Inn for 2 nights as we explored the Monterey / Carmel area. Throughout our trip to California we stayed in hotels and this was our only "motel" experience. When we arrived we were given Room 29 which was stuck in the corner. The room was dark and dismal. On opening the blinds we had a view of the back yard which looked more like a junk yard. We immediately requested to be moved to another room. The desk clerk had no problem in moving us to Room 16. This room was clean and bright and basically comfortable with a view to the front parking lot - which all the other rooms bar # 29 had. The breakfast room is tiny and the choice is limited. The Surf Inn is situated about 5 mins from the centre of Monterey and about 10 minutes from Carmel so it's a good location for exploring both towns. It's also across the road from a shopping mall where there are a couple of good places to eat. Would I stay here again ? ...... No ! I would pay a few dollars more to stay in a hotel. As they say........you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Sonoma, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Thank goodness we only decided to stay here one night instead of two, they gave us a pretty good deal, and when we got to the hotel we understood why. Their website is a total farce, their rooms don't look anything like what they have on the website, we even peeked at some other rooms that were being cleaned. Our room was dingy, dark, smelly, dirty, and the bathroom needed repair, we also had a nice hole in the wall too. A waste of your money and time, don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montereysurfinn, Guest Relations Manager at Monterey Surf Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Guest review for a wrong hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

A great motel to stop at just off route 1 in Monterey. The staff was very friendly, the room was large and clean. And being a single story motel, I parked directly in front of my room, and I didn't have to haul my baggage up a flight of stairs. When I checked out and told the front desk clerk how much I enjoyed the room, he gave me a small ceramic drinking cup as a "thank you".
David Kampf
Phoenix, Az.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31310SergeantDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grover Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I traveled here with the expectation that my two children could swim in the "heated" swimming pool. The water was ice cold. I asked the staff member if the temperature could be adjusted and she offered an illogical excuse about the external temperature affecting the water temperature (since it was also cold outside). I then asked a second time if she could heat the water just a little and she said she would. My husband, who was already in the water, said there was no heating mechanism at all in the pool, so I think she was just trying to appease me with false assurances about warming the water. The pool area had no towels and the staff said we should just bring the towels from our room, which I thought was very inconvenient and cheesy. The morning breakfast was tasty (waffles), but there was no syrup, batter, milk, or orange juice available when I arrived and I had to wait at least 15 minutes for these to be brought in. The dining area was very tiny and sloppy--it was obvious that no one was maintaining it, wiping tables, or restocking anything. The rooms were nice, though small. Also, I had to call twice to ensure that a crib could be reserved for our room--the first staff member implying that since another guest already reserved one, that there might not be another one available for my family (which I couldn't believe...did they only have one available crib??). Luckily my husband called again and we were told that we could have a crib. When it was brought, there was no bedding provided. Although these things were irritating, I didn't let them sour my trip. However, I won't stay at the Monterey Surf Hotel again if given the option.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smalloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#48 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing