We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run by a lovely couple, clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Run by a lovely couple, clean and nice”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I spent 5 nights. They have put considerable amount of money to update this lovely place. Beds are clean, SONY HD TV, Microwave and refrigerator in each room, great shower heads, beautiful bathroom fixture. It is located close to everything in Monterey. Highly recommended.
Oh, They have Make your own waffle maker at free breakfast..free wifi (with always strong signal since they have 4 router) I really enjoyed the stay. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yuko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    98
    53
    34
    24
See reviews for
64
122
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the evening at this motel which is on a road with a lot
of others. The guy on the front desk was really nice and the reception area is tidy which  I suppose is why we chose to stay here. The rooms were really big and clean, if a little dated. Beds were comfy and the balcony was nice. Everything was there that we needed and the tv is big and HD. Wifi and breakfast are included - the waffles were tasty.
There is a massive whole foods supermarket around the corner. Would stay again if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_World_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

in need of a temporary location to stay after a long drive on the roads of California arrived at the hotel late at night. The location was perfect, quiet and some upgrades are taking place.
It seems that the room was recently painted, the bathroom was upgraded AND clean; but that was the extent of it. The furniture, the coffee maker, microwave and the TV were from another era (I am sure many would have died to connect their Atari's to a Sony CRT 30 in trinitron back in the day).
The breakfast was sufficient and the coffee was plenty, not to mentioned I didnt have to pay extra for parking.

Room Tip: get a room on the second floor there is a bit of a view there.
See more room tips
Green Features: It has taken the time to put in recycling bins, so its a start
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevenseasandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location. Clean, large fridge and microwave. Dresser drawers stuck. Front door stuck and required forcing it to open. AC and heat switch cover missing--didn't use it and fortunately didn't need it. Closet door only opened on one side because of the bedside table in the way. Shower was good, but strong chemicals used to clean the bath smelled very bad. Nice staff and pretty flowers, but overall I think you can do better. It is a lower priced property that we had to take because there were no other properties available during car week on the Monterey Peninsula. Not up to our usual standard, so that made it worse, I think.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We regret your inconveniences. The closet must have been shifted since the cover plate fell off the thermostat. The room you were assigned to is specially designed for for a tight pattern to make it easy on persons with limited mobility. We apologize it was not repositioned correctly.

We are proud we can offer potential visitors an affordable stay price for a reasonable value. Their were several hotels with vacancy on higher standard room throughout the Classic Car Week.

Hospitality is a two way street. It is good business practice and manners for guests to respectfully discuss with management directly if they are not satisfied with their accommodations or service. For future reference you will want to let the front desk know of your needs and wants.

It is also smart to check the market type of the hotel so you can be comfortable with your purchase rather than staying at our hotel only to use all our included standard services such as WIFI, BREAKFAST, Parking etc.. and then stating you have elite standards. Your review is prejudiced and careless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. We stayed there for a 7 nights while we dropped off our two youngest boys at college last week, and had no issues whatsoever with this establishment. The front desk personnel were very friendly and informative, the room was clean and comfortable (and even included a fridge and microwave), and the pool and hot tub were also clean and refreshing. I read the previous comments about bed bugs after we had already made our reservations, but I inspected EVERYTHING on, under and within 2 feet of the bed, with a magnifying glass no less, and found absolutely no evidence whatsoever of bed bugs. I also inspected my luggage upon return home last night and again found nothing. The free continental breakfast is fine if that's all you need, but we preferred something more robust each day. We did have waffles in the lobby on one morning and it was a bit cramped and busy, so it wasn't a quick in and out due to having to wait for each person to use the one waffle maker, but at any other time of the morning it probably would have been just fine. For those who complained that the breakfast had minimal offerings, what part of the definition of "continental breakfast" don't you get? This place is a clean, comfortable and affordably priced budget hotel, so don't stay here and then gripe that it's not the Hilton! That just makes YOU look bad, not the hotel. The only thing I'd recommend to this hotel is that they review and update the responses they have made to other people's TripAdvisor reviews. It looks like someone just copied and pasted the same response to almost every review, all on the same day, and the hotel's response calls most of the reviews "bullying". Furthermore, the copied and pasted reply often makes no sense in that it doesn't relate at all to what the reviewer said. That makes the hotel come across as the bullies, not the reviewer. So, I would reevaluate how that is being handled if I were in charge of customer relations. Again, though, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COSNOWBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights. The staff is not only very friendly, they are also very caring people and want to give you good quality for your money. There is a very large swimming pool, hot tub, self-service laundry and free parking to go along with a complimentary breakfast ' The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable and rooms are ample in size. These are new owners with plans to do some major renovations in October to make this an even better value. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great value and lovely people who run this Inn...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

On a road trip I stayed in this hotel for a night. It was clean, cheap enough, the staff was welcoming, not all that far down to downtown Monterey (ten minute walk), ok breakfast served in the reception area. Overall my stay at this motel was a really good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindrelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Property: Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing