We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guangzhou, China
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

That was our honeymoon trip!At first,I found this hotel on booking.com!The price is not expensive!When I arrived,The room was clean and warm!The breakfast teased good!Everything was ok!Best value of America!The couple were very nice!I will come back if we have a baby!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi12212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    95
    51
    34
    23
See reviews for
63
120
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Pro. We stayed two nights 16/17 Oct '13, very good, the room has everything 45" Sony TV, Microwave and refrigerator,iron and board, fan, clock radio, and nice sensor light switches that light up like a night light if you get up in the night. Free WiFi, and free breakfast til 10am.
Balcony upstairs with two chairs to sit on and a table, over looking the large pool,and jacuzzi.
Washer/dryer on property, free parking, quiet at night, very nice neighborhood well lit at night.
Other motels nearby, location so convenient to the Fishermen's Wharf and Shopping Centers. Restaurant nearby is two blocks away, a Vietnamese called Chopstix is Excellent! With reasonable prices, and charming servers.

Cons: Balcony Screen Doors do not have working lock. Entry door does not have a security clasp. No elevator to second floor.

Green Features: Everything is okey. Environment is so nice very green, good breeze, The Motel is surrounded by nice very green trees. With energy lightning devices.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mixer-driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My girlfriend and I travelled along the west coast and due to the Shutdowmn we had to change uor schedule, we arrived one day earlier and were received excellent by the couple who run this Hotel. Very nice people and the rooms where very clean, spacious and comfortable.

Totally recommended for a visit to Monterey and Carmel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Beach, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed in this motel just for one night and have really good experience with this hotel! The woman on the front desk was really nice and helpful. We paid around 80 $ for room which was pretty cheap compare to hotels near by. We have free wifi and breakfast in the morning included. Room was really clean. They have also hot tube and swimming pool available till 10 pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagmara1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was appalled by management at this inn from Saturday September 28 to Sunday September 29 2013. My friend had booked this hotel online. And we were checked into a suite. About 30 minutes into the stay, the kitchen ceiling started heavily leaking water. I called the front desk and they said someone would be there to fix it. They claimed there was a pipe leak. Another 30-45 minutes pass and management had not sent someone even to place a bucket there. In addition, the ceiling started falling down. I called front desk again. I asked the woman, "the water is heavily leaking, part of the ceiling is coming down, can you bring a bucket at least?" The lady replied "do you have a bucket there?" I replied that I didn't (leaving out my sarcastic thought that rarely do I travel without one, but I guess this time I forgot). An hour and a half passed by (I know this because I sat and watched A Cinderella Story) waiting for management. Finally when they did, the mess was cleaned up. When we were checking out I explained to the woman at the front desk that the stay was less than satisfactory because of kitchen ceiling leaking water and the untimeliness of management's response. I explained that it was first a fire hazard, there were outlets where the water was leaking and it was to the their luck I hadn't yet plugged in the coffee maker. But even after paying $190 for the room and having the ceiling pour down dirty water or even the ceiling falling, the most shocking part was woman at the front desk's response to my suggestion to comp us for our troubles and the hazards. She said to me "you need to understand that this was an accident. Besides your bedroom was upstairs and this was in the kitchen." I wasn't even sure how to respond to this absurdity. I again repeated it was hazardous. And my time was wasted waiting for management to arrive. I explained that we should be compensated for this. She again stated that it was an accident and I need to accept that. She had also said the room was already discounted and we were lucky they gave us a room. I corrected her. My friend booked this online. They gave us no discount and we had already reserved the room. So the woman had no idea what she was even talking about (she didn't even look it up). In the end we didn't receive any compensation for our troubles. Not even an apology. If you want my opinion folks, for $190, you could do better. Perhaps the Best Western next door takes care of their guests. At the very least I'm sure they have sturdy ceilings. Accidents do happen, but apparently this managment finds it alright to have leaking ceilings in one of the rooms even if you pay for the entire suite. (sarcasm: I guess I missed that fine print). I advise against staying here; I never will again. The management is more unstable and cheaper than the ceilings. Use your money elsewhere and save yourself the headache. It's not worth it. Guests don't deserve to be treated like this. And I have to say, my stay at Monterey was all put under a gray cloud after dealing with this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanurax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I spent 5 nights. They have put considerable amount of money to update this lovely place. Beds are clean, SONY HD TV, Microwave and refrigerator in each room, great shower heads, beautiful bathroom fixture. It is located close to everything in Monterey. Highly recommended.
Oh, They have Make your own waffle maker at free breakfast..free wifi (with always strong signal since they have 4 router) I really enjoyed the stay. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yuko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the evening at this motel which is on a road with a lot
of others. The guy on the front desk was really nice and the reception area is tidy which  I suppose is why we chose to stay here. The rooms were really big and clean, if a little dated. Beds were comfy and the balcony was nice. Everything was there that we needed and the tv is big and HD. Wifi and breakfast are included - the waffles were tasty.
There is a massive whole foods supermarket around the corner. Would stay again if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_World_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Respected Guest it is our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide you with hospitality service. Thank you for your thoughtful and appreciative thoughts. We are pleased you had a memorable trip. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Property: Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing