We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel in Monterety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #42 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best motel in Monterety”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed in many motels in Monterey and this is the best.
The pool is huge, with a great hot tub, the staff is very helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean. I like the excercise room. It is very reasonably priced compared to the other motels in the
same class. I also like the view and the sun which shines into the room in the morning.
Terrific place to stay. Close to the Del Monte Shopping center and a short walk to downtown.
Nice park across the street. My favorite place to stay in Monterey.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mudflap J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are very much happy to hear of your great experience in Monterey. Clearly you we're able to appreciate the simple beauties that make time in Monterey memorable. We are also happy to hear your enjoyment of local attractions and pastimes. It is refreshing to hear your overall excellent value of travel to Monterey.

We will be waiting for you on your return to the area.

Regards,

John Smith
ABVI Monterey on Munras Avenue
Presidents Inn Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    98
    53
    35
    24
See reviews for
64
123
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I highly recommend this place. My wife and I had a fantastic time. We stayed three days in December and enjoyed early morning walks on the beach and magnificent sunsets in the evening. Big TV with tons of channels and internet connection was great and it kept me busy while my wife went to a shopping mall that was walking distance. Room rates were very economical, great value. I highly recommend for tourist visiting Monterey bay/Carmel. Excellent location, near Del Monte shopping center and convenient 7 minutes drive to famous Carmel by sea, beach and ocean avenue. Clean and spacious room and towering trees around with manicured landscape. Very Friendly front desk service, attentive to our needs / requests and great continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0cky374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site. We appreciate your positive review and sharing your guest experience. We are particularly excited that you took the time and effort to enjoy the beautiful scenery and environment that Monterey has to offer.

We have also shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words and will work on a more receptive attention. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have thoughtfully prepared and maintained in room convenience appliances, premium entertainment and an comfortable for our SMART Money guests. We are impressed with you choosing us, the planning and enjoyment of your trip.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
ABVI Monterey on Munras Avenue
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

What a great experience! The room was luxurious, warm, very clean and comfortable - AND - for a very reasonable price! The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We were just drop by customers and yet they made us feel like old friends. The rooms are close to a street, but we found the noise was not annoying. We only spent one night in a King bed room, but wish it could have been more. We will definitely stay again when we are in the area. The continental breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
ABVI Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice hotel, unexpensive and family friendly. The double rooms are big and can easily accomodate 5 people with a roller bed. Everything is clean (room, bathroom, property, parking,...) and it is obvious that the managers take care of all the details. The people at the front desk are friendly and helpful. Minor detail: breakfast variety is rather short, but it compares well to the average quality of this type of hotels. We strongly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share on our social media site with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations
ABVI Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
597 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am not sure why there are such positive reviews. I will start with the positive. This hotel is located in a safe area. The prices are budget and you get what you pay for. Now the negative. The rooms are located virtually steps from a very busy Munras street. Although the hotel is well landscaped, my room was located about 10 feet from the road. Traffic starts around 6:30AM and is very loud. I don't even think the second floor would be any better. The pool is also located steps from Munras street. The first morning after my nightly stay I was woken by trucks, loud machinery breaking up pavement and people talking. This all occurred around 7am wiithin steps from the front door of my hotel room. I called the front desk at 7:30 to inquire and was told that it was street workers? Not sure why they told me this as it was in the parking lot. The hotel was apparently under parking lot replacement and construction. At 9am I received a call asking me to move my car for a construction project. Absolutely outrageous as I wasn't even ready to leave and had been woken up at ridiculous hours. The hotel prior to this would not admit that they had actually hired a construction company to work on their lot. Morning number 2, construction began at 7:30am. This time I was wearing ear plugs and it was so loud it still woke me up. That same night at 9:30pm there was some sort or road or construction equipment located on the road behind the hotel. Way to loud for guests at this hour. I called the front desk to again tell them about my complaints I explained again about all the noise and specifically said I would more than likely leave early the next morning. The manager apologized but said that he would take note of not having the construction start so early. Also said the noise tonight was from street sweepers. No offer to even refund one day of my stay even though I stated I would be checking out early. Absolutely bad service. There are several other hotels on this street where the rooms don't sit right on the street. Try the Clarion or the comfort suites as those rooms at least sit a back from the street. The noise levels and lack of response from management here indicate a major lack of customer service. If you are traveling on business or pleasure, save your self a head ache and get a better nights sleep somewhere else.
On the rooms, they are budget, they do have a refrigerator and microwave. The rooms have old curtains, mine looked like someone had taken a knife and cut slits into it. The beds are ok. Showers were ok. I cant say this was a positive stay. Having to waste money to check out early to get a good nights sleep is ridiculous.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room in the back on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Americas Best Valuye Presidents Inn Monterey.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding Outdoor Noise Levels on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with hotel management and construction crews to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to San Jose.

Kind Regards,

John Smith
Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Folsom, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I came to Monterey for a wedding. We had a fantastic Warf dinner. I got severe indigestion that night. In the AM I was going to (try to) enjoy the WONDERFUL (over the top) continental breakfast in the office dining area. I mentioned my discomfort to the manager GINA and she immediately went to work on my issue. With her help I enjoyed the rest of our stay without any more discomfort. Thank you (doctor) Gina. The architecture is an older style but is SO clean and well taken care of it felt like it just opened. I am a general contractor and really appreciate the buildings visual appeal also, my wife loves the landscaping. The grounds are well kept. I saw and met few of the managers family members, wonderful people. Thank you SO much Gina and we'll be back. George and Sue Starkey, Oh yes, Update, I am now managing my diet by researching it (Thanks to your help) and I'm doing well. We agree with the other comments too.

Room Tip: We liked the East facing patio room for the AM warm sunrise and PM shadowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Respected Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

That was our honeymoon trip!At first,I found this hotel on booking.com!The price is not expensive!When I arrived,The room was clean and warm!The breakfast teased good!Everything was ok!Best value of America!The couple were very nice!I will come back if we have a baby!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi12212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
Presidents Inn Monterey
831-373-2761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#40 of 55 in Monterey
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 55 in Monterey
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Property: Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing