We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning but the pool made up for it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bang for buck - especially in Monterey - this was a good choice. I like a cold room and these guys offer only fans and sliding doors for ventilation, but once the sun went down it cooled off well enough. The room was comfortable, and they have a sparkling clean large inground pool with lovely grounds and relaxing chairs to sit in. It wasn't the nicest place I've stayed but it was nice enough and great value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear JC,

We absolutely appreciate your insight and experience sharing with us and the travelling community. We are truly impressed that you found the true beauty of Monterey in its natural surroundings. Thank you for your continued support and we plan to dial up the guestroom experience in the years to come.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in town to run the Spartan Race and this hotel was close to Toro park and fit our budget. After the race we were able to walk to the Steak House in downtown Monterey. The room had (2) full beds, small frigerator, mircowave, upstairs patio. It is nice fair priced place to stay with a simple breakfast. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Frank,

Your comment is shared with us and the travelling community. We appreciate the very good rating in regards to finding a hotel impromptu. That leads us to believe that we have developed a very good value and we plan to continue to develop it further. Thank you for the kind words and congratulations on your event!

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We worked in Carmel and the rooms were too exspensive there..This place was clean and quiet with nice pool hot tub and free breakfast. Very nice people and helpful. The good part was it is smoke free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Joe,

It is a pleasure to be able to serve those whom also serve our local community. We hope the even went well and appreciate the time you took to appreciate our hotel. We are glad you can appreciate the smoke free environment. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

JSmith
8313732761

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here to attend an event at the fairgrounds. The hosts are VERY nice and friendly and the breakfast is really good! They have literally perfected the hard boiled egg, delicious!

We were able to walk to and from the fairgrounds without any problem. We did take a cab one night from the fairgrounds, it was approximately 13.00 plus tip. The wharf area is charming although a little pricey. We also walked there.

Worth the price compared to the other hotels for sure! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mary,

Thank you for sharing a very good experience on our social review site. We are truly impressed with your gusto to enjoy Monterey on foot: walk to the fairgounds, downtown and wharf. We agree that the Monterey experience on foot is a great experience. Thank you for sharing details with the travelling community and visit us again soon!

Regards,

John
831 373 2761

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days, location convenient, on edge of town but still able to walk to town. Pleasant room, does not have a/c, not a problem for us but maybe in the summer, fridge and microwave were very useful. TV was excellent , 40 inch Sony. Pool and hot tub just outside our room. Breakfast room can get a little crowded but range on offer was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rufus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Rufus,

It is a pleasure to have you stay with us on your road trip of the state of California. We are happy you enjoyed Monterey and our facility. Thank you for sharing in detail your experience and we look forward to your return!

John
831 373 2761

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in March with my young daughter. The location was ideal. There is a large shopping area right across the street. We checked in and saw a movie. The room was a great size very clean. We got a good nights sleep.I have stayed here in the past and it just keeps getting better. The new manager is very nice. I really cant wait to stay here again. My daughter cant wait to go in that wonderful pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtimetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Funtimetravels,

It is our goal to impress you. We are all smiles to know you and your younger daughter were able to enjoy beautiful Monterey. It is really a nice compliment and we thank you for your thoughtful comments on our social media site and with the travelling community. We look forward to your next visit to Monterey.

Regards,

John
Presidents Inn Monterey on Munras Avenue
831-373-2761

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

They advertised air conditioning in the room. Not only was there no air conditioning but the heat was on and the balcony door was open. It had been particurlarly warm that week so you needed air. We ended up at the Marriot which had air conditioning.

Room Tip: We refused to stay.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vegasbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIMontereyMunras, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Vegasbaba,

We are truly disappointed that you were mislead to believe we had in room air conditioning. It was not our intention to produce false advertising that placed you in an uncomfortable position. We can understand your frustration and the decision you had to make at check in. We are happy you found a great place to stay and we recommend our downtown hotels for luxury you require anytime of the year. Please return to Monterey again soon.

Regards,

John
Presidents Inn Monterey on 1150 Munras Avenue - Across from Don Dahvee Park
831 373 2761

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#43 of 56 in Monterey
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#49 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 56 in Monterey
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras

Address: 1150 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514 (Formerly Cypress Gardens Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £54 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras Avenue is a historic location and played an integral role as a Tree Nursery in early Monterey Community. The current hotel has gone through several renovations since 1965 and is in alignment with industry standards for accommodations that fit the needs of the Mid Scale Consumer. We strive to provide guests with value beyond the room. These features include: Complimentary WIFI over the 1.5 acre grounds, A Very Large Pool with a relaxing Lounge Deck and Hot Tub (approximately 40' x 75') (Closed Winter), A private self serve breakfast suite for guests serving a continental menu (approximately 15' x 20'), A modern business center featuring a large computer screen and printer with internet access, An onsite walkable garden terrace featuring a cast of trees (approximately 40' x 40') , A private Conference Center that can seat 30+ classroom style (approximately 30' x 30'), A fitness center suite in renovation, and a charming guest reception to welcome all of our new and returning guest families and friends. Our approximate guest room dimensions for King Bed Rooms are 12' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 12' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~312 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Our Double Queen Bed Rooms 16' x 21' (living space) + 5' x 16' (Personal Courtyard or Private Balcony) = ~416 square feet of rental space in Monterey on Munras Avenue. Furthermore each room has an approximate 8' x 7' glass patio door to experience Monterey's Beauty from Bed or a quick step outside without leaving the comfort's of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn On Munras Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing