We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Monterey Hotel for one night in October on our way from LA to San Francisco (driving up the coast), we booked the Aquarium package (accommodation + two aquarium tickets - 2 day passes). The hotel was centrally located, valet parking was only $17 or you can use the public garage around the corner for $5 per entry.

Breakfast was included in the rate (around $230). The hotel staff were all very friendly, and were able to provide very good recommendations for dinner. They were happy to store our bags after check out for the whole day, and allowed the car to remain there until we left in the afternoon to continue or drive to San Francisco.

Warning about staying closer to the water - the sound of the seals at night travels across the water and they are quite loud!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J79guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2008

My spouse and I stayed one night in Oct. of 2008 on our way down Hwy 1 and to see the Aquarium. I loved the hotel, and it's owners. I really loved the staff, which is the only reason I gave this place "above average". The night staff were esspecially great!

Ok, while the building and decor is charming, and I didn't mind the lack of elevators; please be warned. The hotel is downtown, in the middle of significant weekend night life. The rooms as far as I could tell did not have air conditioning, and good insulation. What do you expect for such an old building. But, the street noise was so very loud. Now we are in our 30's and came to bed at midnight, but the noise did not die down until 2am. So be warned. But other than that liked the place. There were a few little issues, but we were well taken care of.

If it were in the fall or winter, I would stay here again. I am also wanting to try out this company's other properties.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcladdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We had booked in here for four nights on a recommendation in the Time Out guide to San Francisco. All was well on arrival, check in, valet parking etc. Nice room, very quirky and old-fashioned and a bit of a change from the Venetian in Las Vegas, where we had just come from!

The clerk warned us that the street could be noisy, but nothing prepared us for the nightmare that followed! Thursday night and the noise was unbearable - drunken kids falling in and out of bars screaming and shouting, loud music banging out from a dozen different locations...the 6am garbage truck was heaven compared to the rest of the night!

After a very indifferent breakfast we asked to check out and the helpful clerk booked us in to a sister hotel in Carmel. We were only charged for the one night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

The location is great, being on Alvarado, but there was some construction going on at the back so we had a room at the front. This was really noisy, with the road just outside and no double-glazing. The room was nice and clean but the overly large wardrobe containing the tv mean we had to squeeze past it and the bed. Not much in the way of facilities either. The entrance is impressive, but they appear to have skimped on other things. No lift working either.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welbudj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed in the Monterey Hotel on a Tuesday night (the street it's on is closed on Tuesdays) because of the Farmers Market which was wonderful to see.

The room we booked into was very nice and were very pleased with it, however there was building work going on and there was scaffolding etc. right outside our room. We were informed they would be working from 8 to 5 but as we were due to be up early and would be out of the hotel during the day we didn't mind. However, that night outside the window in our room there was a generator or compressor type thing (presumably used by the builders) which was so loud it kept up us awake all night.

When we were checking out we told the receptionist about this, she was very pleasant but it was just a "I'll have a word with the builders" they certainly weren't going to give us a discount which we found very bad form. I think we were too tired to argue at that stage, half hour sleep will do that to you. It's a pity as the room was lovely and the hotel itself is very quaint.

Monterey itself was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed the Farmers Market.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

The hotel was very nice. We enjoyed a beautiful corner room suite with a fire place (very romantic). A great bonus to this wonderful hotel was the location. Right in downtown Monterey which was very convenient for dinner and night life of the Monterey area. I would be more than happy to return for another romantic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ninos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I didn't actually stay at this hotel - but wedding guests who came to my husband and my wedding Labor Day weekend 2008 did. They all say pretty much the same thing - the hotel is adorable, quirky, and conveniently located. It's nothing super fancy, in one room you had to close the bathroom door to open the closet, and there is an overwhelming amount of pink.


That was the good stuff. Now everyone had little complaints, but since everyone was visiting for such a joyous occasion, everyone pretty much giggled off the 6 am garbage truck, incessant seagull squawking (hotel can't help that of course), and the fact that the hotel neglected to mention (even to us - the wedding couple) that there was major construction going on in 1/2 the hotel, starting early in the morning.

The major complaint however, is with the booking and billing. It is now 3 weeks later and I'm still trying to untangle the mess the reservations desk made. We had blocked 5 rooms @ 3 nights each, to be confirmed 60 days in advance or otherwise we'd be charged. The bride's mother called 61 days in advance to check, the reservationist said all the blocked rooms were booked so we didn't need to cancel anything. 1 week after the wedding, the credit card that the bride's mom used to block the rooms were charged $1500!

The hotel's explanation was - 1 of the blocked rooms was never booked and 2 of the hotel guests never paid. 1st of all, we checked the that blocked rooms were booked, so the 1 room charge is faulty - and the hotel won't fix it. As for the 2 "unpaid" rooms - both sets of guests explained to me that they had made reservations for 2 nights 3 months in advance - not the 3 nights the rooms were blocked for but far enough in advance that the hotel could have warned us. And it was made abundantly clear that these room would ONLY be used for 2 nights. The hotel agreed to give the 2 sets of guests a $50 credit for their trouble - which makes NO SENSE - they should never have charged my guests for 3 nights in the first place.

Now the problem is not so much that mistakes were made - that happens. The problem is that the hotel management is being amazingly unhelpful in trying to solve the problem - saying stuff like "well, it's not our fault". Which I find really rude considering we took up 9 of their rooms in their not completely booked hotel for Labor Day weekend.

Bottom line - stay at the Embassy Suites or La Quinta instead - it's not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunfish14914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: 407 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2705
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £93 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for boutique hotels in or near Monterey, California, look no further. The Monterey Hotel offers Victorian-inspired accommodations with details like hand-carved wood furnishings, ceiling fans, and plantation shutters. Coupled with all this elegance are modern amenities like complimentary Wi-Fi, premium cable TV, and a business center. A delicious complimentary continental breakfast served each morning features locally baked pastries, organic coffee, and Tazo tea. We're also only steps from the Monterey Conference Center and minutes from Old Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The Tuesday Farmer's Market also takes place just outside our front door each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing