We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good things, some not so good...”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some good things, some not so good...”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We really wanted to love this hotel. It's charming, in a great location, and the only hotel in the area to state on its site that it's gay-friendly. There were many good things about the hotel. First off, it was definitely an affordable option! The decor was very cute, and the staff was extremely friendly and attentive.

We stayed in a petite queen room which didn't face the street, but rather their "atrium" (this was actually just a single potted plant). It was a nice, clean room. As others have mentioned, the walls were definitely thin. It was also fairly warm, but keeping the window open resulted in a never-ending cacophony of seagull squawks. The ceiling fan was a nice feature, but it was on a timer, so every hour or so we had to get out of bed to turn it back on. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, the pillows were really uncomfortable. So while the hotel itself had some great features and a lovely staff, we had a pretty bad night's sleep.

Our answer for "Would you recommend this hotel to a friend" is more like a 'maybe.'

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dz4484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    200
    99
    37
    34
See reviews for
91
270
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Location is good for all the sights of Monterey - especially if you have a car. Fisherman's Wharf is close - a very easy walk. Cannery Row/Aquarium is a bit of a hike, but we were quite happy walking it. Even at night after dinner we felt very safe walking. The rooms are tiny, especially with the King bed in there. But the bed was comfy, and the bathroom adequate. Certainly no issues with cleanliness. No views in the room we had. Breakfast was included and was a fairly standard mix of cereal, yoghurt, toast, muffins, juice, tea/coffee. Nothing special or out of the ordinary, but everything you need to start the day. Served in a lovely grand old victorian-style dining room. We had to use stairs to get to the room - and did not notice a lift. So if you are mobility-challenged, you should check with the hotel that they can cater for you. Overall, if you want budget accommodation in Monterey, good location, and really only use your room for sleeping, this is the hotel for you. Note: no on-site parking, but there is no time limit on street parking if you park between 4pm and 10am and there was always a space fairly close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Our expectations were pretty low, and were exceeded by our room. It was small (the bathroom was nearly as large as the main room), but clean.

There was some noise from the hallway early in the early evening, but not enough to disturb our sleep.

Although this place was more my parents' speed, we enjoyed it. A short walk to Fisherman's Wharf is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otten17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We spent a night here and were upgraded to a fireplace room. It was huge and very roomy w/ a separate living room area from the bedroom. The only noise we heard was when we were in the living room; you could hear when people opened and closed their doors. Otherwise we didn't hear anyone talking or their tvs. The only annoyance was that we arrived on the day of the farmer's market (Tuesdays) where you have to park off to the side in their designated loading parking spot since the street facing the front of the hotel is closed off. People were rude and made so many nasty comments while my boyfriend waited there and I went to check us in and request the valet. The upside is that there was a lot of counterspace in the bathroom :) We were also a nice walk to the pier and saw a bunch of seals lounging around.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NYTravelingAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in early June for two nights as part of a San Francisco/Napa/Monterey trip. I had found a rate onliine for just $75 a night while we were there, and despite reading other reviews on trip advisor, I thought well as long as it is a clean, safe place to stay then it works with such a low rate. Here to say now after our experience there, I wish I would have spent a bit more money and stayed elsewhere. Its true that there is no elevator, but the bellman carried our bags up to our room. The parking lot is just two blocks away and it is $6 every time you enter. The room was quaint as in small and old furniture. All in all though those three things didn't bother us. The worst part was the noise. The noise was so bad that we could hear every moment of the room above us. We were right by the staircase so everytime someone would go up or down it sounded like a herd of cattles...added to the fact that there was no elevator you heard luggage clunking down the steps at early hours in the morning. We had brought our own ears plugs anyways from what I had read and we basically still didn't get any sleep. Then after our first night in the hotel, I went to shower that morning and there was no hot water. After we asked about it at the front desk it appeared that hot water was not working for the entire hotel. If I had to recommend a place for someone to stay, I would say either to spend more $$ and stay closer to Cannery row or find a place in Carmel, we overall liked the town of Carmel better. Even if you are just looking for a cheap, decent place to stay because you are spending more on other areas of your trip, (which was my mindset) I would still not recommend staying here because I promise you will get absolutely no sleep (even with earplugs).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DbigCloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

I stayed here with my new wife on our honeymoon on our road trip down from Seattle to LA. Great trip but in amongst motels and hotels, this was the worst of the lot.

The hotel is quaint as other reviewers have pointed out, the staff try hard but cannot make up for the wafer thin floors and walls.

We stayed in a "fireplace suite" and were tempted by a "good rate" of around $140 but in comparison that was the same as we had payed the night before for the hilton in San Francisco so it was certainly not a bargain. The room and facilities simply did not compare. There is a Marriot and a Spa hotel just up the road, I would opt for those at any cost.

The other reviews have mentioned the rustic nature of the rooms, the bed is comfortable if you can actually get to sleep but it is currently 3:30 in the morning and I have just called down to reception because of the unbearable noise to be told to use earplugs!!! Every move that the couple made upstairs (yes, i mean every move and every sound!) could be heard clearly, i can hear every word the guy next door is hearing on his television.

We have even said we will leave now for a full refund to be told that cannot be done, and we have to wait for the manager to come in at 7AM.

The concierge carried our heavy cases up 3 flights of stairs, we tipped him well as the lift does not work. Other reviewers mentioned valet parking but I saw no evidence of this, they directed us to park up the street or in a car park 2 blocks away.

We can hear taps in toilets around us all the time, every little noise can be heard.

There were a bunch of girls drinking and screaming in a room downstairs earlier, and there is a grumpy looking female security guard patrolling the place, which makes me wonder what this hotel is used for in general.

Avoid this hotel at all costs, you couldn't give me the room for free and convince me to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymooncoupleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This grand old hotel in the middle of Monterey was a great find. We booked cheaply through Travelzoo and the room met all of our expectations, apart from no A/C. The rooms have ceiling fans but were still quite stuffy in the evenings. However, this didn't detract from the overall experience. The staff in the hotel were exceptional and helpful throughout. Parking was $17/day - a little expensive, but with a cheap hotel rate, we didn't mind this too much.

We found Monterey wonderful and charming, and the hotel is well situated on the main street, a short walk to the harbour and 10-15 min walk to Cannery Row. A continental breakfast was included, however we chose to go to the Old Monterey Cafe on Alvarado St and weren't disappointed!

We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: 407 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2705
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing