We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice to stay in Monterey.”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Yes, the location is fine but the amenities are bare bones. Have stayed in much nicer places on the peninsula. Thought there was a lack of "soul" here. Sorry just my opinion. Can't really put my finger on it but we won't be staying here again.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank tinamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

The hotel location is excellent, with the Monterey airbus one block away. The rooms are fine, the bathrooms are clean, the beds are nice. The breakfast is nothing special but it is not bad either. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChretienDeTroyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed here october 2009.

Went round a few hotels in monterey which i found rather expensive and still charged ten dollars for wifi.

Finally found this little gem of a hotel, in a great location, great room and superb value.

Definitely recommend it to anyone statying in Monterey.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Charming hotel with beautiful features, pleasant and helpful staff. Great location within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf and Convention Center.
Half the price of the nearby Portola and Marriott Hotels with much more charisma.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booker5620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

After reading the reviews here and checking their website, it was what I expected and exactly what I needed! I was attending a conference so I came and went alot. I walked to the Monterey Conference Center and everywhere else I ventured. I was fully aware there was no elevator and it didn't bother me at all. I reserved a room through Expedia (where you can get a better rate) and requested the most quiet room available. In room #215, I did not hear all the street noise or seals barking, but occasionally would hear someone using the creaking stairs right next door. The bed was firm and comfortable and I found a firmer and larger pillow in the closet which I preferred.

The staff was super friendly and helpful with all my needs! Upon arriving, I found a heap of papers in the closed and asked a bellhop about it. He apologized and took it away immediately. In a few minutes, he brought a bottle of wine and candy to my room and apologized again. Very nice! I loved the free Internet! I enjoyed the continental breakfast. The coffee was fabulous! Twice I asked for some ice and the desk personnel sent an ice bucket full. Once, I asked for some hot water to make hot cocoa and they offered to bring a hot water dispenser to my room. I used their computer and printer to print my boarding pass before I checked out. They called a taxi for me when I left.

VERY IMPORTANT! This is a historical building that was designed and built in 1904 by Architect William Weeks. The European style hotel has been graciously updated and offers all the amenities of a modern hotel with the handcrafted ambiance of a turn-of-the-century classic. At that time, it was without a doubt the most unique and elegantly furnished European hotel west of Chicago. In 1925, you could get a room for $2.50 (I believe it was) WITH a bathroom ATTACHED to your room!

So now you understand it's historical nature...and no wonder it doesn't have an elevator. Now you understand why the walls seem kinda thin and the rooms smallish. It's how properties were built approximately 100 years ago except this one was AHEAD of its time! I loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This place looks great online and the reviews seem OK so we booked 3 nights. We showed up on a friday evening after driving Rt 1 from SLO. Checked in and walked up 4 flights of stairs to our room. we expected this and knew there was no elevator. Our room however we were not expecting. The walls are PAPER THIN and we could hear EVERYTHING happening in the rooms around us. Trust me some things NO ONE should have to hear, especially when the beds are THAT close to the wall and NOT SECURED to anything. if you catch my drift. And if someone used the toilet, shower, sink, tv or anything else we heard that too, from ALL AROUND.. the bed was a rock and i've slept in Motel 6's with more comfortable mattress's. As for the free continental breakfast the coffee was in a thermos dispenser and warm at best. only fruit was cantaloupe and the select of other breakfast items was poor. But again it's a free continental breakfast so our expectations were low. The only thing this place had going for it was that we could walk to anywhere but there are a million other hotels in the area so pick one of those.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Stayed 2 nights - central location with a great complimentary continental breakfast !
Free internet and printer to use !
Room not large but very comfortable and clean.
Staff were friendly and helpful - no parking but valet worked well !
A little bit of town /traffic noise - but can be expected for a city centre location.
Excellent value for money !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerning067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: 407 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2705
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £82 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing