We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to attractions”
Review of Otter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otter Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to attractions”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Within walking distance of Cannery Row, the Aquarium, and a little further down the walking path, Fisherman's Wharf. Needs some remodel, but priced right for its location and the need for some upkeep. The floors of rooms above you creak, even through carpet, with simple walking. Hard to sleep restfully if your room is on 2nd or 3rd floor. A welcome basket of treats that is refillable was a welcome surprise. The desk staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    65
    19
    32
See reviews for
62
82
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay while here! The rooms were very clean and comfy. We were right off of cannery row. The staff were very nice and had many tips on things to do. I enjoyed the jacuzzi after a day of walking and shopping in this beautiful city. Will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Firecg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel is close to everything (within walking distance). The staff is really nice and helpful. You get a basket of goodies when you check in. The room was clean and really affordable for the area. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were looking for an overnight stay in Monterey. Tried a few places that were overpriced and then chanced on this place. It's old style and basic but the front desk guy was welcoming and helpful and the room, which was cheap, basic with a glimpse of the ocean was fine
Would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfinlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The room was musty and very humid. The price was good, the location could not be beat, and the staff were very nice. My only complaint really was the room could have used a serious dehumidifier, and a deep cleaning, not that it was dirty, it's just that you could tell it really needed a little update. All in all I would stay there again because it is walking distance to everything and your other options in the area are twice as expensive.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from anything on the street side if possible, just less noise, but even the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0BM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Compared to prices throughout the Monterey area, this inn's prices were significantly lower and very reasonable for the area. They easily could "milk" the area for higher prices but do not. Located just a block away from great shopping, views and restaurants they allowed us to enjoy our overnight stay without leaving feeling broke. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. No complaints. We were on the third floor overlooking the bay and the sunrise was spectacular. This could be seen right from our bay window. Also provided a "gift bag" of various munchies that were very tasty. Since we are from Flordida, may never get back their again but we certainly left with a great experience and want to pass this on to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was a great place to stay to walk to the cannery row area & walking distance to aquarium. You can find great restaurants & shopping without having to drive. The hotel is nothing fancy but it was clean& nice staff. We went for New Years & the price was great for area.

Room Tip: 4th floor we got a nice view & king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Inn

Property: Otter Inn
Address: 571 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1426
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel will be closed starting February 26th to undergo a full renovation. We look forward to welcoming you to the property in June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Otter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otter Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing