We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DandB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My son and I enjoyed of week of the California coastline and stopped in Monterey for the Aquarium so it was a quick stopover. The Days Inn was a great place to stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable and it was really quiet all night. The price was really amazing and this place is centrally located. I am so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We Stayed there as a family and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The price is a great deal for the Monterey area. Located across the street from the mall and Whole Foods grocery. A very short drive to Cannery Row and all the attractions there.Places to eat all around the hotel. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, and they have microwaves and mini frig'. Coffee makers, blow dryers. This Hotel is nestled into a tree area and is lovely. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The breakfast is light and good if you like fresh fruit and great muffins. Thumbs Up for this one. We have already been back, and we will be going back again. Makes Monterey very affordable if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: the two story rooms towards the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark35363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were driving from San Francisco to LA and were just looking for cheap clean accommodation and this property fitted the bill. For a small fee we had a clean room with good bed and continental breakfast for 2. We didn't want to live in the room just somewhere to sleep and this was good enough for that. We walked to the Fisherman's wharf area for dinner and down to the corner of the block for coffee, it wasn't the Fairmont but it was all we needed. The operator gave us great information for our travels the next day and I thank him for that.

Room Tip: Just arrive and take a chance.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

According to the Days Inn website, the Jacuzzi Fireplace Queen Suite is supposed to have: "2 Queen beds with 1 Queen sofa bed, separate Living room and Bedroom, 25" television with remote, tea/coffee maker, telephone, air conditioning, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, iron & board, free high-speed internet, free local calls, refrigerator & cable TV".

I had reserved a queen suite online before our trip and was excited to have a separate bedroom, so that our toddler could go to bed before us without problem. Well, when we got to our room, we were disappointed to find that the suite was merely a room with a fireplace (by the front door) and a separate room that was only big enough to fit the jacuzzi and a sink. There was NO separate bedroom. When I approached the front desk about it, he said that they didn't have any rooms that offered a separate bedroom from the living room. Had I known, I would have just booked a normal room. Unless you really want to have a large bathtub, save your money, and go for a normal double queen bed room. The location of the fireplace by the door made it very unappealing. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. I just don't appreciate the false advertising.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jm_2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

just stayed here for a spur of the moment weekend getaway. I was pleasantly surprised. the room did need some updating old tv., bed could have been better.but it did have a refrigerator and microwave,( not sure if all rooms did).smelled and looked fairly clean.location was very good. walking distance to down town. and if you want to stretch your legs a little more to fishermans wharf. maybe 2 miles my guess. a lot of restuarants and higher end hotels very close by. which i think says that its in a nice area. staff was nice and very welcoming. all in all a nice hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank res0nshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was the first stop on our coach tour and initial impressions were of a motel style appearance with a double row of rooms. Found it to be a bit basic and that the towels we had didnt appear to be the freshiest. Pleasantly surprised to have a complimentary breakfast included. Well able to walk to Fishersman Wharf from here and to explore that attraction.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed 8 nights at this motel. The price was great, the service was great and the rooms were very nice. The location is great too - just minutes (about 5 by car) away from all the tourist attractions. We plan to stay here again when we come to Monterrey.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelleene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £55 - £728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing