We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here for two nights during the Big Sur marathon. The location was great since it was within walking distance of the race bus stop, the airport bus stop, and Fisherman's Wharf. The room was just average, but you get what you pay for. Although it faced the parking lot and walkway, I didn't have a problem with noise. The shower had low water pressure, and it took a while for the lukewarm, not hot, water to kick in. One weird thing was that I came back one afternoon to find a maid and child watching tv on my bed with all the bedding strewn on the floor. Um ok. The hotel did the job but was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonergal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    456
    223
    67
    55
See reviews for
322
413
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I had booked a room with this hotel but canceled it about three weeks before arrival on the Wyndham website. I was charged on my Mastercard. I have sent now three emails to the hotel and to the Wyndham website without any reply. My only recourse has been to put in a dispute with Mastercard.
I have never in the 45 years of traveling have had this happen to me.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Petuniatokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were real impressed with our upgraded king bed room. Room was quite large with a view of the ocean. Room was nice and clean. Our room was in the building across the street from where you checked in. There seems to be a little more parking here than in the main building/lot. It was convenient there was an elevator and parking was either under the building or just next to it. Building was actually next to Casa Munras. Management says this building is a little newer than the one in the main building.

The amenities were great. There was a decent size refrigerator and a microwave and a coffee maker. The TV was a little old (not an LCD flat screen TV). There was a cable box attached to it so you can watch TV. The walls are a little thin here. You can hear the TV from the room next door (or above) and you can here conversations in the next room. I recommend you bring ear plugs. There is a desk so you can put your laptop on it. Can't comment on the WiFi as we had our own.

Bathroom was pretty big. I liked that the shower and toilet was in a separate room from the sink. The marble counter was a plus. Since we got a king bed room, we only got two bath towels, one hand towel and 2 face towels (a little skimpy here). There is a place to hang up your clothes but there was no closet door. There is a chest of drawers to put your clothes in.

Continental breakfast was just toast, pastries, cereal, fruit, water and coffee/juice. They had a decent size breakfast room (about 4 or 5 tables). If you want more, there is a Jack in the Box across the street and a Denny's just down the street. There's a Trader Joe's about a 10 minute walk from the motel (on the way to fisherman's wharf).

Motel is within walking distance of fisherman's wharf (about a mile). It took us about 15 - 20 minutes to walk there. Price to stay here at the Days Inn is very reasonable and affordable. Would stay here again if we are in the area next time.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyamastoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have to say, I am impressed. The rooms are good sized and very clean. The staff may not be the warmest, but honestly the staff wasn't the reason I stayed here. wi-fi was aplenty and fast. Fridge and microwave. Walls are a little thin but not to the point that it was overwhelming. This is honestly one of the better motels I have ever stayed in, note I say motel, not hotel. If you are on a budget and need somewhere centrally located, this should be the only place you stay. Kudos.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just across the road from the mall with groceries and food outlets - handy for Carmel and Monterey, Mr Patel and his family present a very pleasant hotel indeed. Yes its a motel, the rooms are what they are but it's clean, quiet and the breakfast was hot fresh and in plentiful supply.
Wifi and good TV reception added to the experience of a chillaxing night after a very long drive up the Pacific Highway

Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My son and I enjoyed of week of the California coastline and stopped in Monterey for the Aquarium so it was a quick stopover. The Days Inn was a great place to stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable and it was really quiet all night. The price was really amazing and this place is centrally located. I am so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San fransico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We Stayed there as a family and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The price is a great deal for the Monterey area. Located across the street from the mall and Whole Foods grocery. A very short drive to Cannery Row and all the attractions there.Places to eat all around the hotel. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable, and they have microwaves and mini frig'. Coffee makers, blow dryers. This Hotel is nestled into a tree area and is lovely. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The breakfast is light and good if you like fresh fruit and great muffins. Thumbs Up for this one. We have already been back, and we will be going back again. Makes Monterey very affordable if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: the two story rooms towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark35363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing