We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whale watching trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    438
    213
    66
    55
See reviews for
305
396
66
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed two nights at this motel; it is basic but the rooms are fine for the price. The only problems were a) lack of front desk service and b) thermostat hard to figure out and/ore control.

We arrived at 11 pm; the office was locked but the key was taped to the door. When we went to the desk the next morning before leaving for an 8 am birding excursion the office was still closed. Later that evening we found that our room key wasn't working. We went to the office which was open at that point; the man there said we had to check in formally and that the office hours were 9am to 10 pm. Not posted anywhere; not in room info brochure. What if we had gotten back after 9 pm that evening? Very weird hours for a motel. The man at the desk was very snarky and said that all hotels in Monterey kept these hours (ridiculous!).

Also, the room was always either too hot or too cold because we had trouble figuring out the thermostat; noo instructions given and lots of funny symbols and buttons.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent comments about your stay at our hotel. We take customer service very seriously and take great pride in providing each guest the best possible service. I can assure you this is very uncharacteristic at our hotelbut i will share your comments with our staff as we are always looking to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We rented a room with a view of the ocean and had a nice stay here. The bed was comfortable and the room was really big! We were only here a night but I thought the place was good for the price, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAUREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our ocean view rooms as they are very popular amongst our repeat guests. We take pride in providing great value for your price paid. We hope you are able to return for more than one night on your next visit to Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Quiet, fresh and comfortable room with free wi-fi connection, nice breakfast and parking nearby. Decently priced motel with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Location is excellent (Walking distance to downtown Monterey and Old Fisherman's Wharf).
Staff was very knowledgeable and patiently advice us the best places to go and best things to do in town on complementary maps. They also allowed us to park our car the next morning after check out which allowed us to enjoy the beauty of downtown Monterey and Old Fisherman's Wharf without worrying about parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guatmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you picked our hotel for your California Vacation. As many people do today, they have found us through the many positive reviews that travelers have posted about their stay at our hotel. Thank you so much for mentioning the room cleanliness as our housekeeping staff as well as our front desk staff assisting with area information as each department works very hard in this aspect of the hotel and they take tremendous pride in there work. I will pass along your compliments to them. Thank you for your business and we hope you return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing