We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a 2 Queens with Hot Tub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected more from a 2 Queens with Hot Tub”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The staffs were friendly and helpful. The room was big enough, but the Hot Tub wasn't well maintained. Running water would turn cold after 5 minutes and the tub isn't even full yet. Little parts were coming off too but still functional. Room was cozy and warm. Breakfast was all right. Wish there were pancakes or waffles and/or hardboiled eggs/scramble eggs like the Quality Inn more up the street. Definitely walking distance to downtown, the wharf and hiking trails. Only thing I absolutely disliked was the small parking lot. I had to park across the street in there alternate lot because the one in front by lobby and my room were always full.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We do take your comments seriously and I will share them with our staff as they always trying to improve the guest experience. We wished we were informed of the difficulty operating the hot and cold water as we have addresses this issue and found everything to be in working order. Our hotel is centrally located, walking distance to monterey and fisherman's wharf which all guest enjoy. We do provide ample parking for each guestroom and have additional parking in our annex building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    457
    223
    67
    55
See reviews for
323
413
70
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

my wife love staying at this hotel we this it is very clean and inexpensive. we have been going there for the last four years as our Daughter has been going to collage in Monterey. I would most certainly recommend this place to all my friends and family

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to hear that you had and enjoyable trip visiting with your daughter while she attends college in the Monterey area. Our location makes it very easy to access downtown monterey and fisherman's wharf but also several colleges in the area. We hope to see you soon the next time you visit your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I used Kayak ( hotels.com). So I prepaid over the phone. We arrived about 11 the office was still open. While we were checking in I had to use the restroom the man gave me my key so I could run down to the room.
The bed was awesome!!! Firm mattress! Shower was amazing powerful jet! I give it 4stars because the thermostat and heat was difficult to figure out.
Room is good about average for two people.
Breakfast good selection of continental goods.
I had left my car door open on accident last night and the car and the contents therein seemed to still be there! Area is good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andeesins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We were so happy to accommodate you on your last minute trip to Monterey. Thank you for mentioning the mattresses as we have replaced evert guestroom set with Simmons Beatyrest Pillow Top. The reviews seem to be very popular amongst each guest. I was happy to hear that you found Monterey to be safe and enjoyable. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We arrrved early and were told to wait 15 minutes and we could get early check-in. Room clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast in large room with tv and lots of tables. Yash at front desk was extremely helpful. We even had a new smart phone we didn't understand and visited the front desk at least 4 times and were given help each time.Amazing vaue on a beautiful weekend.This is the fourth time we have stayed here and plan on staying again in a few weeks to go whale waching.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coach32988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for mentioning the great value and service you appreciated about your stay while at the Monterey Days Inn. Our staff works very hard to make each guest stay comfortable and realaxing. We certainly enjoy helping a guest with and request. I will pass along your compliments to Yash as he will be happy to hear your experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed two nights at this motel; it is basic but the rooms are fine for the price. The only problems were a) lack of front desk service and b) thermostat hard to figure out and/ore control.

We arrived at 11 pm; the office was locked but the key was taped to the door. When we went to the desk the next morning before leaving for an 8 am birding excursion the office was still closed. Later that evening we found that our room key wasn't working. We went to the office which was open at that point; the man there said we had to check in formally and that the office hours were 9am to 10 pm. Not posted anywhere; not in room info brochure. What if we had gotten back after 9 pm that evening? Very weird hours for a motel. The man at the desk was very snarky and said that all hotels in Monterey kept these hours (ridiculous!).

Also, the room was always either too hot or too cold because we had trouble figuring out the thermostat; noo instructions given and lots of funny symbols and buttons.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent comments about your stay at our hotel. We take customer service very seriously and take great pride in providing each guest the best possible service. I can assure you this is very uncharacteristic at our hotelbut i will share your comments with our staff as we are always looking to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We rented a room with a view of the ocean and had a nice stay here. The bed was comfortable and the room was really big! We were only here a night but I thought the place was good for the price, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAUREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our ocean view rooms as they are very popular amongst our repeat guests. We take pride in providing great value for your price paid. We hope you are able to return for more than one night on your next visit to Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing