We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 5 December 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I was recently visiting family in Monterey, and thought this would be an okay room for one night. NOT! I arrive and the front desk was completely unattended. There is a bell to ring if you need assistance. I rang that bell a good 5 times and no response. I looked over the counter and there was all kinds of guest information that should not be exposed just out in the open. This is identity theft waiting to happen. I finally call the external number from my cell and a lady answers the phone. When she finally arrives she said she was in the next room and did not hear the bell. I check in and leave to go to my family's house. I returned around 10:00pm and there is absolutely no parking. Why advertise free parking if you do not have a space for every room? Isn't that called limited free parking. I drove around the area and all of the street parking is for 2 hours only. Not knowing what time I would be checking out I decided to look for parking without a limit. I found it about 5 blocks away. So here I am a single female lugging a bag in the dark and cold to get to the hotel. I arrive in the room and try to turn on the heat, but the thermostat wasn't working. I called the front desk and guess what.....no answer. I decide to just go to sleep. The temperature drops in the middle of the night and I woke up freezing. Once again I'm trying to turn on the heater and it doesn't work. Called the front desk again....no answer. The cold wakes me up again at 2am. Called the front desk and ........no answer! Finally in the morning I call the front desk and the same lady answers. I explain the room has no heat. She comes to the room, walks past the thermostat, lifts a cover from a floor heater and turns the heater on. I asked her why there is a wall thermostat if it doesn't work. She said it works in some rooms and not in others. Really??????? I ask her how a customer would know that. She said I should have called the front desk. HA! I told her I called the front desk 3 times and there was no answer just like I rang the bell 5 times and there was no answer. She refused to refund or reduce my bill. I would have been better off sleeping in my car. It was probably warmer. The shower was so old and nasty looking I refused to take a shower. I had to shower at my family's house. Stay away from this place. There are tons of better hotels on Munras with working heat, plenty of free parking, and clean rooms. Go elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Eulalio B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Wendell F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Conveniently located in the heart of Monterey. Easy walk to the wharf and shops. Also close to a Peetes coffee shop. Friendly and helpful staff when checking in and out. Room was great for the price. Even though it's on a Main Street noise was minimal. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Misliziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a large room on other side of street from main building. Bed was comfy as were 2 chairs. Shower worked well. Had micro wave, mini fridge and free good wifi. Free breakfast was reasonable. Staff (owners?) were civil but hardly friendly. Gave no info on check in.
Given cost of room this is a good spot for a couple day stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £52 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing