We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service, fair cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 14 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel was great! It is now my families new Christmas spot. We stayed in the King Suite and it was perfect! The living room was a great size with a TV and fireplace. We even had room for a Christmas tree. Bedroom was great as well and also had a TV ( This helps when parents and children don't agree on the channel) and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom with the Whirlpool tube.... OMG!!! The Best Part Of The Room!!! At first with the reviews I didn't know if I wanted to stay but I'm glad I took a chance. This place is no 5 star hotel but it's a great small family spot that just wants to have a great time and save money. LOVE IT!!! Best part it because it was a room with a whirlpool tub you have no people staying under you so you can let the kids fun free. The only thing I will say about this place is that it doesn't keep regular hours. Sometimes there isn't always someone at the front desk so always call before checking in. If there expecting you they will be there but dropping in you should call. Front desk isn't usually open until 9am but there is a phone and someone is always there to answer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenGirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Ok, so this hotel is not a fancy hotel, but it is one of the more affordable decent hotels in downtown area, it is located in a nice area with a short walking distance to main attractions and commercial area, the neighborhood seems to be quiet. Smooth check in and check out, comfortable beds, friendly staff and clean facilities, including room and bathroom. Overall my stay was good, my only complaint is that my room was very cold at my first night because housekeeping or maintenance personnel left the window open. You get what you pay for, so this hotel is a good value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor and far from Abrego street are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwarrior747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Pros- The view from the third floor rooms is incredible. Room was large. Strong wifi. Elevator (expired permit!) Pleasant staff.

Cons- In room heater was either on or off. So you either cook or freeze. Breakfast was terrible. No fruit. Went to grocery store and bought cereal which made the kids happy.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank travlmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was for a one night stay on Christmas night. The front desk staff was efficient and pleasant. She was also very accommodating. We requested an upper level room that was reasonably "quiet." She gave us both. The motel is an older facility with thin walls but has been well maintained and maybe remodeled recently. Our room was clean, comfortable and had an ironing board and iron, microwave, frig and coffee maker. TV was nice size with good cable. The motel is a good central location for downtown Monterey. Eating establishments are within comfortable walking distance. We felt this was a good value and would return.

Room Tip: If you have no trouble walking up and down stairs with luggage, request a unit on the upper level th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The folks that work there were very friendly but the rooms were small & felt a little dirty. I think next time it might be worth it to spend just a little more and stay at a nicer place nearby when we visit. You pretty much get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £52 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing