We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location but!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the scheduled stops on our tour of the west coast. The location is good and within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and the seafront. However the rooms in the annexe across the road are somewhat tired. They were ok for a one night stay but the air-con did not work in either of the two rooms we and our friends had(and looked like it had not for. While). Our friends asked for a fan and were told to open the windows - not really a solution.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kvasirsblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Although we would not characterize our guest rooms as old and wore out, room decor varies from hotel to hotel we understand that it may not always meet the taste of all guests. Judging from the countless reviews that past guest have left especially about our ocean view rooms, a large majority have not only been pleased but have expressed great comfort and happiness with their stay and in their review of the Monterey Days Inn. We are continuously striving to improve the guest experience and will use your comments to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    438
    212
    65
    55
See reviews for
304
395
66
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel does not pretend to be anything else than what it is, a budget hotel. It is a motel with basic facilities but it is clean and the rooms are spacious. The complimentary breakfast is basic but it does get you started. The hotel is twenty minutes walk away from Fisherman's Wharf which is a typical seaside tourist trap. Better to catch the free shuttle bus to Cannery Row where it is a bit more sophisticated. Whist there you must visit the outstanding aquarium and have lunch overlooking the sea. I would also recommend a whale watching trip using the marine biological trip from Fisherman's Wharf. Make sure you bring warm clothing especially if you go on the 5.30 trip.

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to the road as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the to post your experience about your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that our hotel and its facilities met your needs and satisfaction. We were happy to hear that you were able to take in the many beautiful sights and sounds that Monterey has to oiffer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the new annex with sea views for 1 night as we passed through from LA to SF.
Great location, short walk to fishermans wharf and bars\eateries.
Rooms could do with an update but for the price i wouldn't complain.
Only complaint is the shower heads are fixed at about 5ft so me being 6ft tall meant an uncomfortable showering experience.
Wished we had time to stay linnet though as 1 night in monterey didn't do it justice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Monterey Days Inn. We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean rooms, friendly staff, and grounds. Many of guests have shared in your opinion and we always appreciate when these comments are reinforced. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they work hard to provide each guest with a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We drove from Albuquerque to Monterey and stayed at this hotel. The room was very large with a pretty comfortable king size bed. We also had an ocean view. It is an older hotel that could use a facelift and fixing, but for the location and price was perfect for our trip. I actually enjoyed the noise of the seals, seagulls and the naval academy trumpet every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krickettlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Situated just out of the main shopping area so in a quiet area.However,its a short walk into town and down to the aquarium.Rooms are clean and a continental breakfast is provided.Theres nothing spectacular about the hotel but its O.K.for a restfull overnight stay.Everything is average about the place and you get what you pay for.Stayed in room 218 which was on the end of the first floor and quiet..just what I wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlNarrabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay at Monterey. Nice helpful staff and the place is very clean. Continental breakfast was good too. Love how it's close to everything and it's walking distance to Fishermans warf. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For the third year in a row we have traveled to Monterey, mainly to eat at the WONDERFUL Old Seafood Grotto restaurant. I'd rather spend most of my travel budget on food instead of lodging, so despite our noise problems with this Days Inn in the past, I decided to give it a third try. I called and spoke with desk clerk Annish and explained we would rather not stay unless we could have a third floor view room. He told us that he couldn't guarantee it but he thought we stood a good chance of getting one. When we arrived, Annish was not there and despite having a two month old reservation, a room on our requested floor was not available. We were once again schlepped off to a second floor view room, the noisiest floor in the annex building across the street from the main hotel complex. I have to say I really like everything about this property except the noise factor. The view rooms are roomy, have very comfortable beds, are kept spotlessly clean and have a distant but nice view of Monterey Bay. A short walk ends you up in the plaza next to Fisherman's Wharf . As usual, ear plugs were required due to the hotels apparent policy of only renting third floor rooms to people who can prove the ability to annoy the hell out of guests unlucky enough to be relegated to second floor rooms. Despite my complaint, I do like the Days Inn and will return, however, next time I will bring my rowdy granddaughter so I will qualify for a third floor room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing