We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    423
    201
    62
    53
See reviews for
295
386
62
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel and it's rooms are basic. When I say basic, I don't mean bad just a simple hotel that gives you what you need.
I found the hotel and room (ground floor) to be clean and very comfortable. The room had everything including mini refrigerator, microwave oven and free in room wifi.
The bed was comfortable and had a great nights sleep.
This hotel would be great for families.
The hotel is located an easy 5-10min walk to shops, cafes and good restaurants. We went to Denny's which is a few doors down the road from the hotel. Really good meals, very inexpensive and top notch service.
Overall I would stay at this hotel if in Monteray in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the your positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staff continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests. I was happy to hear that you found great value in your stay and we hope you return to the Monterey area and the Days Inn Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing value!! Microwave, LARGE mini fridge, flat screen TV, coffee maker, iron and ironing board etc. Tile bathroom floor. Plus an awesome continental breakfast. Room was clean. Bed was comfy. Front desk staff pleasant and efficient. Great location. All for an amazingly low price. We'll go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the your positive comments as well as your suggestions. Our staff continuously strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation for all of our guests. I was happy to hear that you found great value in your stay and we hope you return to the Monterey area and the Days Inn Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the scheduled stops on our tour of the west coast. The location is good and within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and the seafront. However the rooms in the annexe across the road are somewhat tired. They were ok for a one night stay but the air-con did not work in either of the two rooms we and our friends had(and looked like it had not for. While). Our friends asked for a fan and were told to open the windows - not really a solution.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kvasirsblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Although we would not characterize our guest rooms as old and wore out, room decor varies from hotel to hotel we understand that it may not always meet the taste of all guests. Judging from the countless reviews that past guest have left especially about our ocean view rooms, a large majority have not only been pleased but have expressed great comfort and happiness with their stay and in their review of the Monterey Days Inn. We are continuously striving to improve the guest experience and will use your comments to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel does not pretend to be anything else than what it is, a budget hotel. It is a motel with basic facilities but it is clean and the rooms are spacious. The complimentary breakfast is basic but it does get you started. The hotel is twenty minutes walk away from Fisherman's Wharf which is a typical seaside tourist trap. Better to catch the free shuttle bus to Cannery Row where it is a bit more sophisticated. Whist there you must visit the outstanding aquarium and have lunch overlooking the sea. I would also recommend a whale watching trip using the marine biological trip from Fisherman's Wharf. Make sure you bring warm clothing especially if you go on the 5.30 trip.

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to the road as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the to post your experience about your stay at the Monterey Downtown Days Inn. We were happy to hear that our hotel and its facilities met your needs and satisfaction. We were happy to hear that you were able to take in the many beautiful sights and sounds that Monterey has to oiffer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the new annex with sea views for 1 night as we passed through from LA to SF.
Great location, short walk to fishermans wharf and bars\eateries.
Rooms could do with an update but for the price i wouldn't complain.
Only complaint is the shower heads are fixed at about 5ft so me being 6ft tall meant an uncomfortable showering experience.
Wished we had time to stay linnet though as 1 night in monterey didn't do it justice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyDaysInn, Manager at Days Inn Monterey Downtown, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Monterey Days Inn. We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean rooms, friendly staff, and grounds. Many of guests have shared in your opinion and we always appreciate when these comments are reinforced. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they work hard to provide each guest with a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Monterey
Ramada Limited Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Property: Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Address: 850 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#12 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launch your California getaway from Days Inn Monterey hotel, where value and friendly service come included. You are going to love being just four blocks from historic downtown Monterey, five blocks from Fisherman’s Wharf and only one mile from celebrated Cannery Row when you stay at our Monterey, CA, hotel. Our Monterey, CA, hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium offers air-conditioned rooms equipped with modern conveniences like a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Start each day with free and delicious Daybreak breakfast then take a dip in our outdoor hot tub. We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including king rooms with an ocean view or fireplace, non-smoking rooms and Jacuzzi suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Monterey Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey Downtown Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing