We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and the GP too”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here as part of a month long trip to CA. Always wanted to visit Monterey but found finding accomodation difficult and what was available was very expensive.

Managed to book two rooms at the Merritt Inn in advance and received nice welcome from the proprietor on arrival. "Are you here for the Moto GP?" he asked. I had no idea it was on! We had only closen to stay Fri and Sat before the Moto GP at nearby Laguna Seca - no wonder I struggled with accomodation!

However all went well. Rooms were really nice. Spacious high ceilinged affairs with big bathrooms and located above the parking garages at the rear.

Location ideal - a short walk from Fishermans Wharf and not too far from Cannery Row. The bikers were a very friendly bunch and there was a real carnival atmosphere in town, The motorbike line up on Canery Row on the eve of the race was awesome.

Breakfast was excellent but the dining area was much too small to seat all guests so we had to wait for a space.

Went whale watching and saw a blue and some humpbacks as well as being entertained by a crazy female marine biologist!! Also did the 17 mile drive and visited pebble Beach for drinks. Fish restuarants at the wharf mostly good - we tried two.

Really enjoyed Monterey - a bit cooler than expected but beautiful and enhanced by the bike activity. Would return to Merritt.

Room Tip: Rooms like ours seemed more spacious than those linked to the front building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our stay was pretty confortable.
Edmund at the reception has been simply amazing. He suggested us lots of things to do and restaurants, and we must sat that following his hints was worthy.
Monterey is not a very cool place, but if you are forced to spend a night in this town because of the
aquarium do it in this inn. The rooms in the ground floor are a bit dark and the forniture is old style, but everything is sparkling clean. Wifi works really well and breakfast is good. The price is a bit high though... In particular in the week ends, but this is due to its strategic location.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stained carpets, microwave was not included as the website described... room was freezing when we got back from daily activities. Don't bring a large vehicle... very little room to maneuver. A fire place is available, if you bring your own wood. Outside of Monterey, CA I would say it was a $80 Hotel... Garden outside is marvelous and well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

we stayed here because of the price & location from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. While other hotels & B&Bs were in the $200 & up range. We got a great deal for our room when I called them directly. The room was very cozy & clean. I would say the beds were more comfortable than many large chain hotels I've stayed at. The Bfast was good. Granted there wasnt a huge selection, but everyone was happy. The dining is very small, only 3 tables. But you can eat in your room our in the patio area.

I was told the rooms are being refurnished , so the should be very nice when you stay. It is really close to the Dennis the Menace Park, Fisherman's Wharf & Cannery Row.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d72v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We booked into Merrit House Inn after searching for accommodation in Monterey on Trip Advisor.
We got a room with 2 queen beds as we are traveling with our 3 year old. Place is conveniently located to restaurants, shops and cinema. Recommend the Denis the Menace playground.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganlexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I booked this room from an online site and double checked the rates and accomodations on the Merritt House site for my honeymoon night. I was extremely disappointed when we got there and instead of getting the B&B that I thought I was booking, we got a new condo in back. I certainly never would have booked my honeymoon night in what was realy equivalent to a Super 8. Like this wasn't enough of a blow we were told breakfast would be great and once again found it to be no better that our typical continental breakfast at Super 8, and we had to pay for parking, really?? Next time I will call ahead to get more insight if I want to stay in a B&B because we were both so disappointed about this night that we went to bed early. bummer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed for one night in mid-October. The room was clean and spacious. Bonuses were the fireplace and the comfy bed with down comforter. In my opinion, Merritt House is a step up from a regular value hotel like a Best Western. Breakfast was standard continental (yogurt, bagels, cereal). It's close to the downtown area, so restaurants are plentiful.

Downsides: mandatory parking fee (about $15?). You can walk to the aqarium, but it is a bit of a hike. Wouldn't suggest the walk for families or seniors, but for others it should be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £125 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing