We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming hotel in a great location”
Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
near London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and charming hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

It was just by chance that we stayed at the Merritt House Inn, as we made a stop off at Monterey on our way to San Francisco from San Diego. I cannot tell you how happy we were with the hotel, the location and our room! We stayed in Room 20, which has a four poster bed, a good sized bathroom and is beautifully decorated - complete with a fireplace.
The location is a couple of minutes walk from downtown (about 2 blocks) and about 10 minutes walk from Fisherman's Wharf (and the sea lions) so you get the best of both worlds. Plus you receive free parking at the hotel so you can walk around beautiful Monterey without a worry.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and I will definitely be staying there again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 20 which was beautiful and also quiet. You could also stay in Room 21 - it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    86
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
40
124
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Very nicely appointed hotel in an historic location, with beautiful grounds. But rooms 14 and 15 are near the cross street with a market on the corner, so you get early moning traffic noise plus the on/off cycle of the market's refrigeration units pretty constantly. The trash trucks showed up at 6 a.m. one morning, and ran all the way down the alley behind the hotel. Whew.
I'd stay again but would make sure to select another room.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ML C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

for a business trip. The inn is clean,the staff does a professional job and the location is great. It has an easy access to the street, to the Conventional Center and the parking lots are available If you have a car You do not need to wait to wait for a vallet to brink it. I stayed two days far away for the busy hotels located accross the street and the price was decent.
sincerely
cosmin

Room Tip: choose first floor not to walk few steps on a stair or stay on the second floor for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We made a mistake on our reservation, and called them the day before to add a day's stay. They were nice enough to upgrade our room for no additional charge. The room was clean and pleasant. It really is more of a small hotel that serves a breakfast as well. The fact that it is walking distance (a little over a mile) from the aquarium is a real plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trogon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Merritt House Inn. The room was charming and the location was great. We booked the Merritt House because it was represented as a B&B. However, only a handful of rooms are actually in the house. Our room was actually in the hotel area of the property. Breakfast was fine but only consisted of fruit, cereal and breaks. We had planned on a breakfast typical of other Bed and Breakfast Inns that we frequent. So this was very disappointing and in fact we went to a Denny's after the first morning. The front desk staff were great. VERY helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisaplumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed here for a night on a spontaneous trip to Monterey -- I have to echo what the other reviewers said, the location is fantastic. We walked everywhere -- didn't need to use the car at all. Our room was very nice, high vaulted ceilings, fireplace, and a nice n' cozy bed. We simply asked the front desk for a log for the fire and then enjoyed a nice before bed. There isn't a microwave in the room (and the fridge is super tiny) but it was a nice place to stay. Breakfast was ok -- it was a continental type deal.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for stuff to do, they give great recommendations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanell_fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We arrived early and were graciously given our room by a friendly gentelman. The room was well appointed with a nice fireplace and outside shared terrace. Our breakfast was more than adequate and the hostess gave us great recommendations on things to do and drives that gave us a spectacular view of the area. Our only complaint was that our bed frame sqeeked all night long ( and we weren't "actively" using it!) Will definately return. Lovely little place great location..Note: avoid the English Pub near the warf very dirty and awful food!

Room Tip: We stayed in front of the Inn street noise was moderate but calmed down early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
551 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Property: Merritt House Inn
Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing