We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent option for family near downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merritt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merritt House Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent option for family near downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

An excellent option for a family, we stayed in a double queen room. price was competitive with other larger chain hotels, the continental breakfast was simple but adequate. The room was old but clean and well kept

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    82
    45
    14
    7
See reviews for
40
119
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our group of four friends had two rooms. One (#1) on the garden, was excellent -- well appointed, quiet and with a lovely view of the garden and a very nice patio area. The other was upstairs toward the back of the property and wasn't bad, but had a couple of problems, especially a wing-backed chair that was very worn and actually had a hole in one of its arms with stuffing showing. In the morning, there was also considerable traffic noise coming from the street behind the unit we were in. I should say that this noise was not a problem during the night. Staff was very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was entirely adequate. We would return, but would make sure that our rooms were on the garden. The location is very handy to the actual city, the historic walk, and some very nice restaurants as well as Fisherman's Wharf. If you want to be walking distance to the Cannery Row area, however, this isn't for you unless you're a hiker!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverwest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My boss referred me here, so I made my reservation because, well, you do what the boss says. I'm really happy I followed orders (this time) because the Merritt House Inn is super! Within a quick walk to the convention center and both wharves, and close to the free shuttle that took me to Cannery Row. Super comfy beds and pleasant room. The staff was really nice and provided excellent advice on where to escape the tourist crowds...no, I'm not sharing that secret!

Room Tip: The suites are in the historic home, the rest are built behind above the parking garage. They're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SillyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The most comfy of four-poster beds with fireplace which in June remains dormant. Couldn't ask for anything more. Just lovely. Not a five-rating as I've not tried the breakfast yet. Clean, comfy and charming. Great location - a short walk to downtown and the wharf.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay in Monterey. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable! I also need to mention how friendly the staff were, especially at check-in. We hadn't researched the area much before we stayed, and the staff gave us some great advice and directions of how to get around the town. The downtown area of Monterey was a pleasant surprise too! A lovely little find.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Domino_PJ_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at Merritt House years ago, and was glad to revisit. Good location close to downtown and the wharf. Great rooms with fireplace- -cozy and comfortable. I got to stay in the adobe house suite this time which was fantastic with carved mission furniture and tons of atmosphere. Lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We truly enjoyed our four night stay here. The rooms were comfortable, nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. The entire staff from the owners (a family) to the housekeepers were all friendly, helpful and responsive. Great location, a good night's sleep, great continental breakfast... everything was fantastic. Oh, and the price is right as well. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merritt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merritt House Inn

Property: Merritt House Inn
Address: 386 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Merritt House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merritt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merritt House Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing