We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”
Review of Motel 6 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Monterey
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Dirty bed spread on arrival, no facial tissue, no shampoo supplied!! Very small room with two queen beds with no space to move around. More expensive than others in the same class.
3 people not satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ew5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed here in March 2011 and was completely satisfied, so I used it again this year. Comfortable accomodations at a reasonable price. The British lady on the desk during the day was especially nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Motel 6 experience many years ago was not a good one. I have changed my tune to the return of a boutique style motel in Motel 6. I am on a road trip for now and staying in many Motel 6 motels. There is no fee for a pet and the price is good. The rooms are much smaller than other hotels, but Motel 6 is consistent in the upkeep of their motels. This particular motel is embracing because of the staff and location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

The energy here feels good and I will repeat again, it is because of the area and staff. It isn't noisy between rooms! I paid almost a $100 the other night at a Best Western near Santa Rosa and the workers were very noisy the next day. The room I was in was right across from the cleaning room. Expensive and too big for the management to keep up with the employees and guests!

Motel 6 is small enough to maintain!

Thanks to the employees here in Monterey!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub. The tubs are big. Some rooms only have showers, but plenty of hot water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Front desk person (jessica) was rude and had an attitude the entire 3 days I was here. Would recommend you go someplace else, if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed32978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is very well located, the rooms are pretty spacious (bed, shower, toilet, fridget and extra sink). The room is old but clean and the owner is very nice/helpful.
Though it is located on a main road, the rooms are still far enough from the road and so there's no noise you can sleep at night, no trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goreneinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed one night here, having selected it based on previous good experiences with Motel 6 chain in general and on reviews on this site. We were not entirely thrilled with our stay, for reasons I'll list below. But first, the positives:
The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, and while nothing appeared brand new it was all in excellent condition. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. We slept well and were refreshed for the next leg of our trip.

Now, the negatives:
I would not recommend this particular Motel 6 to anyone traveling with younger kids, as we were. It's located on the same block as an adult theatre and bookstore and a shady-looking club, and the neighboring guests were engaged in some loud all-night activities. Also, the motel backs up to the fairgrounds, so check the timing of your visit. We inadvertently arrived the night the county fair began its load-in, and were awakened by lots of semi truck activity the next morning.
Most dismaying to my child, though, was that the pool was filthy and not usable.

For the price charged, we might as well have paid another $20-30 and stayed somewhere a little more upscale and been a little less worried about it all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZiggyInSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Unfortunately we arrived on a Friday and had to pay the weekend rates. The room was tiny and the neighbourhood very loud and it was definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 527Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#43 of 56 in Monterey
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#49 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#34 of 56 in Monterey
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#23 of 56 in Monterey
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey

Address: 2124 Fremont St, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at the Casa Verde Way exit, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £47 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Monterey is located less than a mile to the public beach and Monterey Peninsula Airport. Fisherman's Wharf is 2 miles. Restaurants nearby. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms for a fee. 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Motel Six Monterey
Monterey Motel 6
Monterey Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing