We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not enough parking”
Review of Motel 6 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Monterey
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not enough parking”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

not enough parking, and what was there was reeeeally tight, otherwise it was on the nicer side of your average motel 6, also pretty pricey compared to most motel 6s if you can better to drive from Seaside or Marina or so... the other downside was they had a sign stating "if guests stay after 1030 they must come in and pay" so apparently its the "meeting" place for many... which might explain the parking

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatertotpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    31
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
32
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We paid just under $100/night for this motel as it was the most reasonable we could find in Monterey at the time. Nice for a Motel 6, clean, but room was a little small. New looking bedspreads, small pool in front. Free coffee in a.m. Restaurants within walking distance. There was air in plumbing which caused loud noises from our pipes and other surrounding rooms. We stayed for four nights and were awakened all night long whenever other people used their bathrooms. I complained to management who checked out the plumbing and said groups of four rooms were connected to the same plumbing. We received a certificate for one free night within a year at any Motel 6. Something unusual occurred one night as I watched the people next door carry 16 cages of rabbits into their room. I asked management if they were aware of this and was told the occupants of that room "registered a pet". A couple days later, we saw the cages being carried out and loaded into several vehicles. Not sure what the Health Dept. would have to say about this. Although the motel was in a good part of town, I can't recommend it due to the loud noises caused by the pipes. I don't know if other guests had the same problem.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
144 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Monterey can be VERY expensive so, based on Tripadvisor reviews, I was looking for a choice that had reasonably good reviews at a fair price. I picked this Motel 6 for a 2 night stay and paid $57.99 + tax per night (which is cheap for the area).
My findings were; (a) the room was clean (b) the staff was very friendly
(c) 20 channel choice on the TV (d) very large tub/shower combination. The tub was probably 30% wider than average and the sprayer was the rainwater type and was better than some nice hotels I've stayed in - it was great! (e) good shopping and eating choices nearby (f) the walls are kind of thin (as a previous reviewer says).
It's your usual Motel 6 - try somewhere else if you want a luxurious experience, but it's a good choice for Monterey.

Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

i certainly wasn't expecting much from a motel 6, but we were on a tight budget this trip so i thought why not give it a try. let me say that we will stay here again! the staff was polite, the room was clean, the water pressure and shower were great. It was a little noisy--close to RR tracks and airport. but that kind of noise you get used to. didn't hear anything from neighboring rooms at all. location great, only a few minutes to cannery row. so, overall a nice surprise for only $50/night.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — close to airport and rr tracks--noisy
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndeaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

This place represents good value for a one night stay pre- or post- big sur. The check in staff were friendly, there was a free continental breakfast, it was quiet, had a comfy bed, and had free wireless and cable tv.

  • Liked — convenience and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellingtonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed here as an overnight stop on route down the coastal highway of california.
As we knew it would only be a one night stay, we were happy to pay a bit less for a farily basic room.
We found this motel 6 to be clean and it served its purpose for what we needed. the lady on reception was friendly enough, you have a free coffee in the lobby in the morning and there is a denny's diner just across the road where you can have a nice breakfast.
I would say that if you are just staying overnight, there is nothing wrong with staying here. Don't expect anything special, just a clean room and a very reasonable rate to crash out for the night. If that is all you are after, you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — The price and convenience of just seeing it, pulling in and staying over, no complications
  • Disliked — nothing really, its very basic but that is what we expected for what we paid
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddlyelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2007

The walls in this motel are paper thin. If that wasn't bad enough I came back to my room on Saturday night to hear a concert at the fairgrounds BLARING in the background until 11:00 pm. Sunday night, same thing raging concert until 11:00 pm. shaking the windows. when the concert was not going the planes to and from the airport woke me from my sleep. This is a terrible location for a motel unless you're hard of hearing. and I paid over $300.00 for the 4 nights. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the incredible noise from the neighbors and the fairgrounds and airport nearby
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LornaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#40 of 55 in Monterey
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#36 of 55 in Monterey
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monterey

Property: Motel 6 Monterey
Address: 2124 Fremont St, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at the Casa Verde Way exit, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Monterey is located less than a mile to the public beach and Monterey Peninsula Airport. Fisherman's Wharf is 2 miles. Restaurants nearby. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms for a fee. 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Motel Six Monterey
Monterey Motel 6
Monterey Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing