We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendship Suite Great For Family of Five”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Colton Inn one night while visiting Monterey. We had the friendship suite which is a giant room with 3 queen beds. It is the only room downstairs (a few steps down) and is like a big basement room! It has two windows that are below level but do let in light and can be opened for cool air. It was big, it was clean and was perfect for our family of five..two adults and 3 teenagers. Better than having to get a rollaway or pay for two rooms! The cookies in the lobby were great and the breakfast was nice..bagels, pastries, coffee, hot chocolate..no complaints since it is free! The friendship suite even had it's own dining table so we could bring back breakfast and eat in our room. The price of the room was very reasonable for Monterey and I recommend it and would stay here again. It is not fancy or luxury by any means but was perfect for our family. This room would be great for families or those who need 3 queen beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here with my partner for one night before heading to Santa Barbara. Overall we found this place to be very comfortable and had a nice few extra touches: cookies, tea/coffee, and fruit were available all day at reception as well as a vast selection of free dvds. We did not find the staff to be overly friendly however and so this would be the only negative thing. We were not informed about the free transport that people are referring to and we had to ask for maps etc. I think this place would benefit greatly from a more friendly, warm approach at reception. Other than that it was grand - comfy beds and spacious room and bathroom (with a jacuzzi bath!). There was also a vending and ice machine on the ground floor. Wifi and parking were also free! And we were in walking distance to the wharf where there is a great selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chucklesDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a great place to stay! Clean, comfortable and great service! Love love love the cookies! The staff is incredibly nice and friendly! Within walking distance of Fishermans Wharf, Cannery Row and the aquarium.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were very pleased with our three day stay at this hotel and will stay there again. It was clean, quiet and the bed was VERY comfortable. We took our free breakfast out on the patio and really enjoyed the well cared for potted plants. The hotel is within walking distance of the free trolley that took us along the coast to Pacific Grove and Asilomar. We can't wait to come back again. Very friendly and helpful people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Plenty of room for a family of 4. Balcony was small, and screen door didn't close completely, but the view was peaceful. The room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. You didn't feel like you were in the middle of the city. Ate breakfast on their deck, which is surrounded by plants and potted flowers. The office had cookies and fruit available throughout the day. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. Easy to get to the wharf and other points of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monopolyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Colton Inn was found via the internet. It was reasonably priced and close to the meeting that I attended on the water. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Walls are thin, as I heard the television next door at all hours. Continental breakfast with bagels, fruit, coffee and juice were a great touch. It was also a 1.5 block walk to the Trader Joe's. Microwave and 'frig in the room were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. While the hotel is within walking distant of Fishermans Wharf and the free trolley. The room was quite dated and the beds were the worst we have ever slept on. We also had two items missing from our room (the first day after the maids cleaned the room). The front desk just brushed it off and questioned us on whether we had left them someplace when out sightseeing. Theses were items you wouldn't take with you while sightseeing. This is the first time we experienced something like this in all our travels. Will never stay at the Colton Inn again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £77 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing