We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Inn”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is an Inn in a good location, within walking distance to most of the attractions in the area. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. There is a basic breakfast available from the reception to take away to the room, although there is an outside seating area beside reception. Cookies, tea, coffee and fruit are available until the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimfromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is pretty comfortable. Rooms, bed and bathroom do not lack in space. Free wifi and a wide parking space are an important added value. The only thing that might be better is breakfast. Not for the choice which is pretty rich and wide but rather for the logistics. There is no proper room and having breakfast in the lobby is not the best...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is located right at the edge of their main Town. Alvarado street (which is their Main Street) is only two blocks away, about a 5 minute walk and there are loads of restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. About a 15-20 walk to the end of Alvarado Street and look to your left, you'll be at Fisherman's Whaft. Colton Inn does have a small Continental breaks until 10:30 am and cookies during the day. The rooms are no 5 star hotel, but it's clean, nice and it has its own microwave, and refrigerator, which is always a plus for me. When we got there, out TV wasn't working. With two 14 year old girls, we called the front desk and Cindy was the friendliest and most accommodating host and had us move one room over. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Monterey.

Room Tip: Our original room had a large couch and very roomy. (Loved it, but the TV was inoperative) From mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We chose it as a motel on the way from LA to SF, and were surprised of finding something quite nice and well provided. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Cindy gave me the most quiet possible room, as per requested, but in any case, the place is not noisy at all. It is within walking distance to the dinning area of the city and the harbour, and in a safe neighborhood.The price was very reasonable. The breakfast is a simple self service in the reception area, but well provided and good quality. There is a seating place to have the breakfast but it is outdoors, and during rainy or cold days cannot be used. The parking is free and spacious, and Internet free works well.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor not to have anyone walking on top. Most construction in all California is mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTHA91256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed one night on April 9th and found the hotel very nice and comfortable. The room was clean, staff cordial and helpful. Continental breakfast in the morning hit the spot. Recommend to stay there and if my travels take to Monterey again will do the same.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Daveclark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

It has a great location but it's aesthetics are not modern. Looks like a 70s era hotel started remodelling but stopped half way . Great service besides that and the parking sucks for trucks. It is very clean and even comes with a fireplace.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rickymc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Walking distance to great restaurants, wharf, Cannery Row (20 minute walk). Old historic Monterey just down the street.
John and Cindy are most welcoming and friendly, aiming to satisfy guest's requests;
mine being a quiet corner room. I stayed in 223 with a small balcony in the rear of the property. Only noise I heard was very distant barking of seals! The room was clean and spacious.
Loved the fresh fruit, cookies, tea and coffee at night and cereals, fruit and pastries in the morning.
Two huge benefits are free parking and wi-fi.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitanurseOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing