We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly staff. Superb value for money.”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location. Friendly staff. Superb value for money.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for one night on Pacific Coast Highway trip. Was easy to find and in a good location only a few minutes walk from Main Street and wharf. Staff we're very friendly and helpful, the lady on reception told us where to avoid when eating. (There is no fitness centre or pool clicked icon by mistake)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annanewty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    209
    90
    23
    28
See reviews for
175
208
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely clean room with nice balcony. The cookie on arrival was lovely, and staff very friendly and helpful. Bathroom a little dated. Plenty of eating places within walking distance. A great breakfast and lovely sunny deck to eat it on

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachjonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Loved this little place within walking distance to fisherman's wharf and other top little restaurants. Very helpful and friendly reception with fresh baked cookies, great coffee, fruit and all sorts every time I went into reception area, very generous. Continental brekky was lovely with quality pastries etc and cereals. There were 5 of us including my wife and 3 children and we had a huge room with 3 x very comfy queen size beds. The price was unbeatable at about $150 per night. It is nothing flash but very nice and highly recommended for a few nights in this stunning little town. The Wharf seafood food was out of this world and best value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlChal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice big rooms with fireplace and logs provided if needed.
Spotless inside the rooms and made very welcome when checking in.
Continental breakfast very nice with fresh fruit and yogurt,either take it to your rooms or courtyard round the back of the reception.
Fridge and microwave inc in the room and a lovely touch of coffee and cookies after 1pm.
Great hotel and lovely people.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s. wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We loved the warm welcome at this hotel, breakfast was included and free use of DVDs . Close to town and nice big rooms. Tea, coffee and cookies when we arrived was a nice touch. Nice veranda for breakfast and nice setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_WalesPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were really impressed with our room. Perhaps we were lucky to have one with its own log fire, but combined with cleanliness, spaciousness and comfort , it was great. We got the impression that the walls were quite thin but fortunately we had quiet neighbours so there was no problem. The room service was really good. The best room clean we have had. The provision of NBCSN as a TV channel enabled us to watch an important Premier League football match at 5.30 a.m. in the comfort of our room ! As others have said, the location is excellent. Just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf and walking to the Aquarium is perfectly feasible and enjoyable. Taking a breakfast tray to your room is not ideal but the choice is good , including fresh fruit and croissants. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room with a log fire is a bonus in cold weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knislinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is an Inn in a good location, within walking distance to most of the attractions in the area. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. There is a basic breakfast available from the reception to take away to the room, although there is an outside seating area beside reception. Cookies, tea, coffee and fruit are available until the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimfromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing