We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE, Excellent hotel! Modern clean room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I ordered through orbitz and the did not know about the dog policy, I did not reserve a dog friendly room, and the manager hooked me up with one at no extra charge. GREAT service and i highly recommend it to anyone in Monterey!


Thanks again redroof!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

This Hotel is very clean, comfortable, cozy, loved the stay.
The team member Neil so very nice, and helpful very eager to please his customers.
I would reccomend this to who ever would like your own personal hot tub in room,and fireplace, private outdoor patio, just a very welcoming place.

Room Tip: personal hot tub in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This hotel is awesome, don't be fooled by the low price, the rates are low but the rooms are superior. The hotel is well built and I didn't hear anything from the other rooms

My room had a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall and a king size Serta bed which felt brand new and super comfortable. Pretty decent sized fridge and microwave too, very spacious room and the bathroom felt like a luxurious spa

There was a pretty large work station with a lovely black leather reclining office chair - VERY NICE TOUCH!

I loved being within walking distance of 7Eleven, CVS Pharmacy, Safeway, Denny's. Really great location

Unlike most hotels, the housekeeping not only keep the room immaculate, but they also replace coffee, soap and shampoo.

This place is super impressive! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjmoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here mid November on a quick trip to Monterey before all the hoopla of the holidays started. We found the rooms to be nice however the doors and floorboards in the room we stayed in were in dire need of paint. The red front doors on our floor had marks all over the front of the doors. They serve a continental breakfast, very basic, cereal, coffee, milk sweet roles and perhaps toast; nothing spectacular but if you have little ones... a good option. The maid service was prompt and efficient and the front desk folks were nice. No pool, an out of season hot tub and vending machines on the floor we stayed on which was the 1st. CVS, Denny's, Monterey Cookhouse (very good!) and your friendly neighborhood adult book store are within walking distance. Within driving distance to the Wharf and Cannery Row as well as the Naval Post Graduate School. The City of Monterey has made it hard to get lost as they have a wonderful sign system. If you are looking around for budget accommodations this is a possibility however I'll probably look harder at the competition on my next trip. I graded pool and fitness center as average this property has none but I could not submit without it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room where the TV can be powered on via remote we had to do it manually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9erfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

It's worth the stay due to the comfortable bed and great style of the room itself. You'll feel right at home and have a great stay with great TV and free wifi. I really enjoyed my stay there and would consider another stay there. I will recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJArellano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Dear Guest:

I appreciate the comments regarding your stay with us. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experience our guests have at our hotel.
Your feedback is always an encouragement to all of us!
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We always look forward to serve you in your next visit and will do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Neil Prabhu (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Great second stay! Good location for business! Well kept rooms! Improvements over the past months are coming together to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable! Easy check in and check out! Thank you!!!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Enjoyed a weekend stay with family.Recieved a Great rate and Maria was very accommodating..
Room was clean,beds were 'comfy'. That morning we had coffee and headed out to wharf for Calimari,retuned the motel and enjoyed a tub and a nap!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £45 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, jetted spa tub a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from 10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing