We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value, great breakfast”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Big clean room and bathroom, fridge, microwave. coffee maker. Bathroom supplies were minimal, separate alcove with desk and chair was good to have , quiet location. Breakfast was terrific with boiled eggs, cereal, juice, toast, pastries.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest:
WOW! My entire staff is delighted as you have given us a PERFECT rating base on your wonderful (staying) experience with us. Your feedback is truly appreciated!

I'd personally like to thank you for making us one your choices along your road trip. It means a lot to us when our guests can tell us about their experience here at the Red Roof Inn, in Monterey. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and also that you noticed the work we have been putting into the property for the last several months.
If you ever come by Monterey again, we would love to host you again. Please book directly with us at: redroofinnmonterey.com or don't hesitate to give us a call prior to coming in and we will gladly take care of you. Until then happy travels and happy, sate holidays, Thanks again!
Regards,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    108
    76
    30
    30
See reviews for
117
133
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soquel, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a bargain in Monterey. I wasn't expecting much because of the price, but I've already returned multiple times. Clean, spacious rooms, comfortable bed and chairs, flat-screen tv, mini fridge and microwave. It must be recently renovated because everything is clean, fresh and new. Wonderful service from the family who manage the property. They are friendly and helpful. The first time I stayed, there were loud people in the room above me. Within 2 minutes of calling the front desk, the noise stopped and I had a peaceful night. Questions or problems are dealt with immediately and everyone I've encountered who works on the property is kind to the guests and happy to help with any requests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crunchygoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you have given us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. We always want our guests to be happy, and we will go beyond our needs to ensure that happens. If guests have any problems or concerns, we want to get that taken care of immediately, because guest service is our number one priority. We also want to provide service to our guests in the kindliest manners. Please do refer us to your family and friends and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking directly with us, your reservations are always guaranteed without any issues.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I booked directly with the hotel and received an even better discount than offered on Kayak and other services: $47 a night + tx. The room was recently refurbished. It had a flat screen tv (lots of channels) and a very comfortable king size bed, I didn't eat their continental breakfast but it appeared to be ok, just a couple of cereals and prepackaged rolls. Room had all the necessary amenities: Refer, microwave, good iron and ironing board, ample closet space, good toiletries, nice desk.

The free wifi was excellent. It was off season with only about 50% occupancy, but I had no slowdowns when surfing the web or doing normal business email and downloads.

The only downsides were there was some room to room noise from the family behind me during the evening, and the plumbing was a bit noisy. Also, Red Roof's website says free USA Today, and they didn't have any. It also says free nationwide long distance, but the card on the phone says there is a charge. But, I was paying $47 a night, not 3 or 4 times that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEHBrentwoodCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely happy that you have decided to give us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. We make sure that we do the right essential tasks to make our guests happy. We want to satisfy every guest in the best possible and kindliest matter. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the different amenities we have to offer. It makes us feel better that you booked directly with us, so that you pay a better price for an excellent room. Please refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baiting Hollow,NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay for the price- very friendly staff and clean. Will definitely come back to stay when in the area. Jasmine was the best concierge yet- when we called to mention I would be arriving late in the evening she made every effort to make sure our arrival went picture perfect. Every day we were greatest with a smile.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Gary,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us. We want to put every guest in the best possible position when they walk into the lobby. We want to greet them with a warm welcome, so that they know that we really do care. My staff is very kind and they are always willing to help out our guests in any way, shape, or form. Please refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or though redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking directly with us, your reservations are always guaranteed without any hassle.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was referred to the Red Roof Inn by the /tourist bureau for a good place to park my Motorhome for a couple of nights. The Red Rood Inn is a motel that has 10 RV spots in its parking lot with water and electric hookups. What a great idea! It is also close to the Highway to get to Carmel very easily. Also good to take a taxi downtown for $10 and avoid the hassle of driving in your RV. Continental breakfast provided, bathrooms, shower. laundry. Nice folks, clean restrooms. Really couldn't ask for more, esp as the price was well below the nearby RV parks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djaneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you have chosen us for an RV parking spot. We always want to give our guests alternatives if they do have a recreational vehicle. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our nice and clean bathrooms and shower. We always want to treat our guests in the best manner, because customer service is our number one priority. Please refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed here & they are amazing. Great wifi & I love the flatscreen tv plus the mini fridge...
Room was very clean & spacious..I had an amazing stay. I really enjoyed the microwave also and the location was awesome. The free breakfast has coffee and orange juice and cereal and many more.. I believe this is the best hotel in the area. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms looked brand new & smelled very nice. The manager made my stay comfortable & fun as he is willing to answer any questions you have and will make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Edward,

We are extremely delighted that you have given us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. We work really hard everyday to provide the best service to all of our guests. We are very happy you were able to enjoy our delicious breakfast items. All of our rooms are newly renovated, and it makes us happy that you can enjoy every aspect of our new rooms. Please refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking directly with us, your reservations are always guaranteed without any hassle.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place is amazing !! every time we come to Monterey were coming here to stay !! its was clean great Wi-Fi !! I love the setting in the room very stylish !! I love the flat screen TV !!! its has a mini fridge and micro and coffee maker in each room !!! and great closet space !!! its was fabulous !!!!! great price !!

Room Tip: Look on there website they have many room options !! one even has a Jacuzzi and fireplace !! the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Diandra,

We are very delighted to hear that you have given us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. Here at Red Roof Inn, we strive each and every day to provide the best service that we possibly can. As soon as the guest walks into the lobby, we want them to feel welcome and comfortable. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer. Please do refer us to your friends and family and we would love to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking directly with us, your reservations are always guaranteed without any issues.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#29 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#24 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, a jetted spa tub, a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing