We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stevenson Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lone Oak Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$388/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
US$438
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$319
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
205
119
80
35
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
119
80
35
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanflat screen tvdefinitely stay here againchecking inwi ficontinental breakfastcoffee makeran upgraderoad tripmotelmicrowavecerealsafewaypillowsjacuzzicoastfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great experience with red roof all of the hotels were booked or reserved today due to multiple events in Monterey . Neil gave me a great deal with welcoming arms. Will definitely come back again.

Thanks Neil!


Nate

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiedasaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We admire that you wanted to share your experience staying with us and that you gave us a perfect rating. My staff and I work very hard each and every single day to ensure that we receive excellent reviews just like yours. We always have to go beyond our limits to make our guests happy and it always pays off, because it brings good business. I am glad to work with giving you a great deal and I will always be prepared to give you more great deals. Please do refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The room was very clean for the 5 days we stayed at the motel. It is an old style motel with thin walls and we could hear folks in the rooms next to us if the rooms were occupied. Good price and great location. We could walk to several wonderful restaurants and you are minutes away by car to Monterey attractions. The continental breakfast is rather sad and it wouldn't take much to offer more healthy breakfast items.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Mabel,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. Customer service is our number one priority and we value each and every one of our guests. We want to make sure that we fulfill all of their needs in the kindliest manner. We sincerely apologize about the wall issue. We will make sure next time that it will not be a problem for you. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking directly with us, your rooms are always guaranteed without any issues.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. There are a lot of restaurants and shops in walking distance including a Denny's and Cvs and little diner right across the street. The room was very clean and quiet and parking was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Kat,

We are extremely delighted that you have given us a perfect rating based on your experience staying with us. We always strive to keep our guests happy in the best possible way. When our guests are happy, it means that we are achieving our everyday goals and tasks. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the cleanliness of our newly renovated bedrooms. Parking was quiet and good, which is a good thing for all of our guests so that they can enjoy a good night sleep. Please do refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking directly with us, your reservations are always guaranteed without any hassle.

Thanks,

Neil Prabhu (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Although this is an older property, it has only been a Red Roof Inn since it was purchased by a new owner in 2012. We stayed three nights in room 109 which is at the rear of the property. Parking is in a lot rather than in front of each room so it was very quiet. Our king-bed room was large. Everything in the motel was updated in 2012 including the furniture, bedding and drapes, carpet, and flat-screen TV. A refrigerator and microwave are provided. Unlike the open hanging space or pegs on the wall we see in many motels, this closet had an actual door and a number of shelves and shared the hanging space with the iron and ironing board inside. The shower is good but lacked water pressure. Perhaps it was a low flow head.

The owner is trying to get the laundry and the spa repaired. The owner lamented that help is hard to find so it may be a while before these amenities are available on site. There is easy access to a laundromat, a CVS drug store and several restaurants. Breakfast is a light continental breakfast. Best bet for breakfast is across the street at Grandma's Kitchen.

We stayed three nights at the inn to take advantage of the wonderful hiking in the area. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Why are people saying that there's no pet fee? I stayed here last year and upon check-in the desk manager told me there WAS a fee. I brought both of my dogs so I definitely paid this fee twice (just double-checked my invoice since it was emailed to me, and it's there). There were some paranoia-inducing signs posted up by reception that said things like, "If we find out you have pets staying here, or if you bring more than one pet but didn't tell us, you will be charged. If we find out you've left your pets alone in the room, you will be charged." So as to why this motel supposedly has no pet fee is beyond me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl_C_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your feedback after almost one year. You have addressed your special concerns. It's a great pleasure hearing from you after a long time and I apologize for any misunderstanding that you may have encountered during your stay. Some rules are beyond our control and we have to work within our limits.

As the Red Roof pet policy states, only one pet is allowed to stay for free. Any additional pets are against the Red Roof brand standard. However, we always want our valued guests to come and enjoy their stay with us, so in some cases we may override the policy and we may allow additional pets if the guest is willing to pay an additional pet fee.

For the safety and environmental purposes of other guests, additional pets must be declared at the time of check-in, and pets must never be left unattended in the rooms or in any vehicles. This is a brand policy that is being stated.

We hope you understand it and again we are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please feel free to contact me for any concerns that you may have and we would love to host you again! Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews