We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candle Bay Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
199
116
80
35
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
116
80
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanextra towelsfremont streetflat screen tvquiet locationwould stay here againchecking incontinental breakfastwi ficoffee makerhot tuban upgraderoad tripmicrowavemotelcerealsafeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely clean room, very spacious. Booked in for 1 night to go whale watching so arrived late and left early. Given a ground floor room which was good for heavy luggage. Modern looking décor, very comfortable and clean beds. Breakfast in reception, toast, cereal, etc. Lovely hotel would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the lovely feedback that you have given us based on your experience. We always want our guests to enjoy their stay in the best way possible and that is from clean and comfortable rooms to great service which is what my staff and I always provide. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your outdoor activities and come back for a comfortable stay. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast. Please do refer us to your friends and family. We really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I wouldn't stay in this place for more then 1 night.
The room is basic and clean. The location is far from the attraction of Monterey (like most of the motels) but if you have your car with you its not an issue. No laundry facilities in the motel but there is one 2 min walking

The breakfast is really narrow and after staying in different motels that one was the poorest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear your feedback based on your experience staying with us. We always value what our guests have to say based on their experience so we can make any adjustments that are needed. We want to make any changes that we can to make our guests happy. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean rooms. We do want to make your stay much more comfortable in the future, so we really do hope to see you again.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I went to monterey and stayed there for one night. The breakfast is simple but good toast and cereal. My room was pretty large and clean. the fridge was noisy and there was some noise at 3 am from people yelling but thats to be expected. My whole stay over all was great for being a simple hotel and it had everything you needed for a simple night. the wifi was extremely slow. like slower than 56k.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Micheal,

We are happy to hear that you were able to share your experience with us based on your stay. We always want to make our guests happy, because service to our guests is our number one priority and we always want to improve in every way. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our delicious continental breakfast, and the clean and spacious rooms. We want to make your stay even better next time, so we really do hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The first time we stayed here was in February. Little bit more pricey in June though. This is the second time staying here because it is a pet friendly hotel. Staff advised of the areas where pets were allowed. We have two dogs and staff was accommodating

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPKR49ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you wanted to share your experience with us and could not be more delighted that you have given us a perfect rating based on what you have experienced. Here at Red Roof Inn, we always want to make sure the guest is our number one priority and we always want to make sure we take care of their every need. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with your two dogs. We really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey,com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

know that I am studying in California I realized how useful tripadvisor reviews are
For this reason I decided to start writing more about my last hotels and travel experience.
I went with some friends and took a road trip to Big Sur, because we are on student budget we stayed on Red Roof hotel for 2 nights.
To be honest with you I thought it was going to be worst, for what we payed, we got a nice bed, clean bathroom and a decent stay.
If you are planning on going to Monterey or you are just passing by this hotel is ok.
The staff is really friendly and the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: I dont remember what room was it but it was on the 2nd floor, you can listen to some cars passing by, but overall its quiet and calm
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Jimena,

We are happy to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. We always want to make our guests happy by fulfilling their every need. My staff and I always go out of our way to accommodate any special requests for our guests. We do want to make your stay even better, so we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book directly with us or through redroofinnmonterey,com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews