We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, and Awesome Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ok this was a second chance visit. My last visit I had a horrible experience with staff and was totally offended as a patron. This time is was COMPLETE opposite. The front desk attendant was super friendly. Very respectful and attentive.

Our room was the usual, excellent!! The rooms here are so clean and smell fresh. The beds are comfy and plush. What sets these suites apart from a lot of other places is the dedicated wifi. Each room has there own wifi modem so you always have a very strong connection. Best part is its completely free.

A must stay hotel if you have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jimmy,

We are very happy to hear that feedback you have given us based on your experience. My staff and I want to apologize for the unpleasant experience you encountered the last time you had stayed with us, but we are very happy we were able to turn things around and make your stay an unforgettable one. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our family suite, which is a 700 square foot room with plenty of space. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We hadn't made reservations and all the normal "chain brand" hotels were full so we stopped at the first place that had a vacancy. The front desk guy - Paul - was the most helpful hotel employee I have ever encountered in any hotel at any time. He walked us to the room, helped bring in the luggage from the car and when we went out for dinner he put in the requested roll-away-bed. The hotel is tired but it was spotless, the beds were comfy and even the roll away was comfortable. A gem of a find in an unexpected time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the feedback that you have given us based on your experience staying with us. We always want to hear the great feedback from our guests, because it really shows that my staff and I work hard to ensure our guests have a great night stay. I am very happy to hear that Paul was such a helpful person to accommodate you during your stay. We always want to provide great service to our guests, because that is our number one priority. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I visited this hotel a little while ago; the hotel and staff are great and the location is perfect. The rooms were clean and cozy and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Not too far from sight seeing and shopping. Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dhwani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Dhwani,

We absolutely appreciate the feedback that you have given us based on your experience staying with us, and we are very happy to hear we were able to receive a perfect rating from you. My staff and I work hard everyday to ensure we meet our guests needs, and we always want our guests to notice the work we put in, and we are proud to hear you noticed our hard work. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our clean and comfortable rooms, and the beautiful city of Monterey itself. Please refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I recently drove from San Francisco to LA via the Pacific Coast Highway with my two teenaged children, and this was our first stop along the way after a couple of days in SF. Our room was spacious and clean, and the staff was very nice. The room was a good value, too -- the least-expensive of our trip. The only reason I give it four circles rather than five has to do with the breakfast, which didn't offer much variety or healthy options (basically, a couple sugary cereals, some danish and muffins, white bread, two types of jam, peanut butter, and juice or coffee). Enough to get started, but most motels that offer breakfast have a greater number of options. That said, I would gladly stay there again. Well done, Red Roof Inn!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, away from the street. I'd recommend both.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Vienna,

We are very delighted to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. My staff and I always go out of our way to make our guests happy and give them whatever they need. We always want to retain our old guests and attract new ones. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean and spacious rooms. Please do refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We selected this hotel because of the reviews. Do not get room 226. It is very small, faces the Main Street to PCH 1. The mattress was as hard as a rock. Morning traffic at 5:30 AM woke us up and it did not slow down. TV did not get any local channels, so no ABC NBC or CBS, Cartoon and ESPN, TBS were about it. After 2 days of 8 hours on the road, it made it for a long evening. We like watching the Today show in the morning. The manager came to our room but said it was the cable company and could not fix it. We had our iPads so we thought we would use them since there was I room wifi, the wifi was so slow you could not watch anything. We have not had wifi problems at any other hotel and we had been traveling 8 days. Not again for us.

Room Tip: Do not get room 226.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Rosa,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience with us based on your stay. First of all, my staff and I personally want to apologize that your stay did not go as well as you had planned. We always want our guests to have an amazing experience, and we deeply regret we could not fulfill that for you. We definitely will make the right adjustments to fix these issues, so we really do hope to see you again, because I promise that your stay will be better the next time around.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The red roof inn in Monterey has quite spacious rooms, with excellent service and kindness from the people working there. We brought our family of five, plus a dog. Don't trust any of the bad reviews on here. We brought our black lab, and we were perfectly content with the room and bathroom designated for us. Breakfast was a tad disappointing, but you get what you pay for. I would recommend this for families who need more space than the usual hotel rooms.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank lechiendenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience with us based on your stay. Feedback from our guests is always a great thing to have, because it shows us how we are treating our guests and how we give great customer service. We always want to make a positive affect on our guests, so that they always return in the future. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your spacious room with your pet as well. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When my travel department let me down at the last minute on a recent business stay this staff came to the rescue without missing a beat. Wonderful hospitality and great rooms with all necessities in fine order. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Monterey.

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated and rooms on the ground floor are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Katie,

We are very excited to hear the great feedback you were able to provide based on your experience staying with us. We always want to be there for our guests, whenever they have any issues, or whenever they have any questions. We are glad to hear that we were there to fulfill your needs after the problem that you had incurred. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really do hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.


Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#23 of 56 in Monterey
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £50 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, jetted spa tub a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from 10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing