We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice and clean...When I checked in and walked to my room the cleaning staff left the towels and sheets in the hallway to all rooms being cleaned. Looked very messy and smelled musty in the hallways. Woke up to my neighbors talking to their children and I could hear them like they were in my room due to the paper thin walls. The cleaning staff vacuums were running way to early in the morning. Breakfast was not great hard boiled eggs, toast and cereal a little more selection would go a long way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank embzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. We always want to hear any feedback from our guests, that way we can make any adjustments if necessary. First of all, my staff and I want to sincerely apologize that your stay was not as pleasant as you had expected it to be. We always want to retain our guests, so we will make the necessary adjustments that we need, and we really do hope that you consider coming back in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not a luxury hotel but it had all the basics. (quiet, hot water, air conditioning, wifi, cable, clean). The tourist areas are a short drive away. The clientele is mainly tourists. I didn't see any unusual traffic or "parties".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Morgan,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. Feedback from our guests helps us in many ways, so we can see where we may need to make any adjustments in our service to our guests. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the nearby attractions in the beautiful city of Monterey, CA. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were three guests and had made a reservation for a roll-away bed. After arrival we realized that we would not need the additional bed. In the morning at check-out we told this - and were credited the amount for the roll-away. Very friendly and generously!

George A., Switzerland

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jürg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jurg,

We are very delighted to hear your feedback based on your experience staying with us, and we are even more proud that we have received a perfect rating from you. My staff and I always want great reviews from our guests, and we really do put in a lot of effort for this great feedback. We are happy to hear the kind of service that you offered. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was very spacious, clean, and included a spa and back porch for a very reasonable price. The front desk was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jennifer,

We are very pleased to hear the feedback that you have given us based on your experience staying with us, and it makes us even more proud to earn a perfect rating from you. My staff and I always work hard for perfect reviews and we are happy to hear you were able to notice the hard work we put in for our guests. We are also glad to hear you were able to enjoy our beautiful family suite, which is a 700 square foot room with plenty of open space. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We made a last minute reservation here for July 4th. The room was spacious, but the beds hard. Was overpriced for what you get, even in Monterey on the fourth of July. There breakfast was very little to speak of- a few pastries and cereal. (no juice-coffe, water) Older rooms with remodeled appointments. An Ok Stay, but not for the money we spent. They did help us out of a jam on July 4.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Snagwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us based on your stay. First of all, my staff and I want to apologize if you ran into any issues during your stay, but we do promise to change things and we will definitely make your stay better the next time around. We do serve breakfast items such as juice and coffee, but perhaps we may have run out since it was a busy 4th of July weekend. We will make these adjustments, so we really do hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ok this was a second chance visit. My last visit I had a horrible experience with staff and was totally offended as a patron. This time is was COMPLETE opposite. The front desk attendant was super friendly. Very respectful and attentive.

Our room was the usual, excellent!! The rooms here are so clean and smell fresh. The beds are comfy and plush. What sets these suites apart from a lot of other places is the dedicated wifi. Each room has there own wifi modem so you always have a very strong connection. Best part is its completely free.

A must stay hotel if you have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jimmy,

We are very happy to hear that feedback you have given us based on your experience. My staff and I want to apologize for the unpleasant experience you encountered the last time you had stayed with us, but we are very happy we were able to turn things around and make your stay an unforgettable one. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our family suite, which is a 700 square foot room with plenty of space. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We hadn't made reservations and all the normal "chain brand" hotels were full so we stopped at the first place that had a vacancy. The front desk guy - Paul - was the most helpful hotel employee I have ever encountered in any hotel at any time. He walked us to the room, helped bring in the luggage from the car and when we went out for dinner he put in the requested roll-away-bed. The hotel is tired but it was spotless, the beds were comfy and even the roll away was comfortable. A gem of a find in an unexpected time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the feedback that you have given us based on your experience staying with us. We always want to hear the great feedback from our guests, because it really shows that my staff and I work hard to ensure our guests have a great night stay. I am very happy to hear that Paul was such a helpful person to accommodate you during your stay. We always want to provide great service to our guests, because that is our number one priority. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 56 in Monterey
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £41 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, jetted spa tub a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from 10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing