We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room a 70's throwback, breakfast a joke”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Eureka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room a 70's throwback, breakfast a joke”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Thank goodness it was clean otherwise it would be an embarrassment. Having arrived after 9 pm, tired and paying $150 for each of two rooms, we found out the "spa" was completely fenced off from guests, the rooms were Studio 54 inspired, and the "breakfast" was hosted at the check-In desk with no seating or real food to speak of. You have to be desperate to stay here and we were. Yuck.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear the feedback that you have given us. We always value the feedback from our guests, and we deeply regret that we could have not made your stay more enjoyable. We wish we could have done better, because my staff and I do care about our guests and always want to give our guests the best service. We will make the necessary changes, so we really do hope you give us another chance and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    111
    77
    31
    30
See reviews for
120
135
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I traveled here with my boyfriend and our dog for a wedding in Monterey. The reason we chose the Red Roof was because they accept dogs.

This is an overpriced and crumbling motel. The bed is disgusting and soft, the room was not well cleaned and the tv did not work. The walls are very thin and we could hear everything our neighbors were saying. They allow rvs to park in the lot and there is a lot of noise from people hanging out in the lot throughout the day and night. The proverbial cherry on top was that I called ahead to let the front desk know we would be arriving very early Friday morning and was told that we would only be charged for one night. However, we were charged for two nights. I just spoke with the general manager Neil, who treated me very disrespectfully. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've stayed at a lot of Red Roofs and we paid twice as much for this one as the others and found them to be only half as good. We recognize Monterey, and especially on Summer weekends, is very expensive so this may still be one of the better values around.

We booked a superior king room, which was very small (compounded by the fact that the desk area was in a narrow hallway opposite the bathroom and next to the tiny closet). The room bed and bathroom were clean (except the carpet that was very dirty - we recommend that they replace it with laminate flooring as is in many other red roof properties). We could hear people in the next room and above quite loudly, fortunately, they quieted down after 11:00 p.m. Althought the room and bathroom were reasonably clean, the trim was chipped in many places and the veneer on the door was peeling off. The bathroom has been updated with slate tile and a new countertop, The toilet was loud and used a huge amount of water to flush despite the sign saying that water should be conserved. there was a fridge and small microwave in the room, both of which worked fine. The work area is simply a desk shoved in a dark, cheerless corner of the narrow hallway with no lighting save the garish overhead flourescent in the hallway itself. The bath towels were thin and scratchy like sandpaper The property is also located quite far from downtown and the tourist areas. There is frequent JAZZ bus service, with a stop right next door however, that will take you downtown for $2.50 each way. The staff tried to be helpful but was not all that knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear the feedback that you have given based on your experience staying with us. First of all, my staff and I want to apologize for any of the minor issues that you may have encountered during your stay. We always value the feedback from our guests, because it lets us know where we may need to make adjustments if necessary. We will do our best to make these changes accordingly, so we really do hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff is extremely friendly and will go out of their way to ensure your satisfaction. The rooms itself were clean, quiet and cozy while the location was great. Not far from sight seeing and overall home away from home at an affordable price. Great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Anisha,

We are absolutely excited to hear your great feedback about your experience staying with us. Feedback from our guests are always an important asset to our business, because that is the foundation in which we can build up our business and attract more people. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate. Please refer us to your friends and family and we hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed happily in Red Roof Inns before I was disappointed by this experience. The room makeover was a definite improvement but one of the beds was missing a leg. Breakfast was a couple of Danish pastries & either cornflakes or bread for toast. No fruit or variety. On top of that when our car wouldn't start the staff just shrugged their shoulders rather than suggest a local garage that might help. Thankfully a couple of fellow guests got us underway. Won't return to Red Roof.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us based on your stay. First of all, my staff and I would like to sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant as you had expected. In situations such as yours, please do let us know ahead of time if one of the legs are missing from the bed, because we do care about the safety of our guests and we do not want anybody getting injured, so if you do notice a missing leg, you should inform us immediately so that we can take care of that situation. Also, I personally have never seen my staff ignore any requests from our guests. We always take care of our guests, regardless of the situation, but I will let my staff know what happened and we will improve. We will make these necessary changes, so we really do hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice and clean...When I checked in and walked to my room the cleaning staff left the towels and sheets in the hallway to all rooms being cleaned. Looked very messy and smelled musty in the hallways. Woke up to my neighbors talking to their children and I could hear them like they were in my room due to the paper thin walls. The cleaning staff vacuums were running way to early in the morning. Breakfast was not great hard boiled eggs, toast and cereal a little more selection would go a long way.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. We always want to hear any feedback from our guests, that way we can make any adjustments if necessary. First of all, my staff and I want to sincerely apologize that your stay was not as pleasant as you had expected it to be. We always want to retain our guests, so we will make the necessary adjustments that we need, and we really do hope that you consider coming back in the future.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not a luxury hotel but it had all the basics. (quiet, hot water, air conditioning, wifi, cable, clean). The tourist areas are a short drive away. The clientele is mainly tourists. I didn't see any unusual traffic or "parties".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P, Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Morgan,

We are glad to hear that you wanted to share your experience staying with us. Feedback from our guests helps us in many ways, so we can see where we may need to make any adjustments in our service to our guests. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the nearby attractions in the beautiful city of Monterey, CA. Please refer us to your friends and family and we really hope to see you again in the future. Also, next time do book with us directly or through redroofinnmonterey.com. By booking with us directly, your reservations are always safe and secure.

Thanks,

Neil (G.M.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#37 of 56 in Monterey
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#23 of 56 in Monterey
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Address: 2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and conveniently located near Highway 1, 68 and 218 near the juncture of Monterey, Seaside and Del Rey Oaks. Less than 5 miles away from Monterey Fairgrounds and the beach, it's easy for our guest to enjoy major events and the California sun. Drive a little further and you can visit the famous Fisherman's Warf as well as Cannery Row; where you can enjoy shopping, fine dining, entertainment and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. For the adventurous type, only 15 minutes away, you can visit Pebble Beach and the renowned 17-Mile Drive. Enjoy gourmet restaurants, shopping and multiple golf courses along the ocean. you can also visit numerous missions and historic monuments around the area. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is ideal during major seasonal events such as; the Monterey Jazz Festival, Monterey Auto Week, the Big Sur International marathon, and Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. our location is convenient for all events, and we offer great deals on advance bookings along with ample parking for a variety of vehicle sizes. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free WiFi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, refrigerator, In-Room Coffee, a hair dryer, and an iron & ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our 2 Family Suites offering 2 king sized beds, a jetted spa tub, a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. We also offer a seasonal continental breakfast, primarily during the summer months. Experience our complimentary coffee and tea in the Lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. The Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an on-site RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. We can accommodate RV sizes ranging anywhere from10'-60'. One family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
America`s Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing