We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Lodge to stay at in Monterey.”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge to stay at in Monterey.”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

If you are a diver, this is IT! All the tubs and bars that you need to rinse and hang your gear are provided by the lodge. If you are not a diver, it is STILL a great place to stay. It is a very short and easy 5 min drive to the beach, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. It was a very quiet stay, the jacuzzi tub was kept very warm and relaxing and the beds were very comfortable. I will be staying here anytime I come to visit or dive in Monterey.

Room Tip: The "Suites" are a King size bed with a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace in the room...I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review!

That is right! if you are a Diver or a Kayak fan, this is the place to be. We have a rinse station, so you can clean all of your equipment after your dive. Our rinse area also has a outdoor shower and a changing room. In front of all of the guest rooms, you will find large hooks to hang your gear to allow it to dry.

Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    328
    65
    13
    14
See reviews for
307
412
50
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

y wife and I were visiting family over the weekend in Monterey and came across the Lone Oak Lodge. Our first appeal was the price and proximity to everything in Monterey. When we checked in we were greeted by a friendly staff who allowed us to check-in early with no fuss. Parking was convenient, room was clean, and the in-room jacuzzi was a plus.

Other amenities included a fast wi-fi connection at no additional cost (unlike most of the big chain hotels try to sneak on you). If you are a diver this seems to have the space to clean and store equipment.

For the price this is the place to stay in Monterey. We will be back in the summer time frame.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks........see you next summer!

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Recently stayed two nights on this hotel. Read the mixed review but decided to give it a shot, was happily surprised with what we got. The room was clean, bathroom looks recently renovated and spotless, fridge coffee maker and wi-fi were provided, ample parking space. Really good value for money!

The only downside was probably if you're woman travelling solo, it might not be the best/safest place. Nothing to substantiate this, it's just my impression . But I traveled with my husband, so it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IvyVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see both yourself and your husband back again in the future!

Lori Bauer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Affordable place. Clean and comfortable. The internet was fast & reliable. The jacuzzi was an unexpected bonus.
Location is not too close to Monterey's attractions, but there's a drugstore and several sporting good stores close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyubkyub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you so much for the compliments. They are always welcome!

Warmest regards

Lori Bauer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Took my girlfriend to Monterey for Christmas this year. I didn't know what to expect from a motel that offered an in-room hot tub and fireplace in this price range. I was blown away! Excellent attention to detail (glass drinking cups, down pillows, shower with fixed and massage head). The room was well decorated with murals on two walls. The hot tub itself was spacious and relaxing. Staff were friendly. A great choice for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Christmas and New Years is a great time to visit Monterey.....thank you for the compliments and hope to see you next December?

Lori Bauer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

After reading lots of reviews while looking for an inexpensive place to stay between Christmas and New Year, I settled on Lone Oak. The reviews for this place were ok...nothing stood out that made me know this would definitely be a winner....but I chose it based mostly on the fact that all of the other hotels in the price range had numerous gripes about being able to hear mattress aerobics going on in the next room and I saw none in the Lone Oak reviews...and for $56 a night, the price was right.
I called ahead to confirm my reservation and spoke to the manager. She was very pleasant. I asked to have a microwave in the room and she said no problem. She also noticed that we were staying for 7 nights and adjusted our rez to give us our 4th night free!
When we got there we walked in the room and noticed right away how clean it was. My husband was amazed. He even ran his finger over the top of the picture over the bed...not a speck of dust. The sheets were great, big fluffy towels and the beds were nice too.
The spa room was much needed after all the hiking we did each day...my husband slept like a log after soaking in the hot tub (which was clean). They have a sauna too which is great if you don't mind feeling like your face is going to melt off (not my thing but husband loved it).
This is in a great location as well. 7 minutes from the airport, walking distance to CVS and Safeway grocery store, and numerous restaurants. Liquor store right across the street (although skip it and go to Safeway). Very close to HWY 68 and 1 exits. If we ever get a chance to go back to Monterey, we will definitely stay here!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29 all the way in the back- 2 queens and it has a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review and compliments. Winter is a great time to visit Monterey, the weather is mild, no fog and best of all the rates are very reasonable! I look forward to seeing you both in the future!

Warmest regards,

Lori Bauer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Spacious room for the price. Good location - near plenty of places to eat, gym. A pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the road are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flavioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for the compliment! We hope that you come back and visit us the next time you are in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing