We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel!”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great little motel!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

This is a fabulous place to stay if you are on a budget in Monterey. It's a bit back from the sights of Monterey but we had a car so it was fine. The rooms are spacious and clean with a tv, DVD player, heating and plenty of clean towels. Overall good value and we had no complaints!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxypinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    328
    64
    13
    14
See reviews for
304
409
49
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

I was unsure about this lodge because of its location on Fremont street and I am spoiled because we always stay in Pacific Grove on Aslimor, but this trip is dive trip for my hubby so we stayed at the Lone Oak because they are "diver fliendly".

When I called to make our reservation the man I spoke to told me a queen bed room would be $60.00 night and that I would be given a "divers rate". Well upon check in we were charged more...apparently I was quoted rates for mid-week not Friday and Saturday weekend rates. All the more reason why the owners of this motel should update their reservation and email a copy of the reservation to guests. Oh well, even paying their weekend rates is much less than anyone else in the are. They are AAA approved, though I didn't get a discount.

Bedding, furniture and bathroom are outdated. Only item modern about the room was the flat screen TV.
Free wi-fi
Carpet torn at entry.. Cracked tile in bathroom.
Single stand up shower in bathroom.
At 5;00 a.m. you'll hear people starting their cars.
Walls really are thin.
Bed was comfortable, pillows were too.
Near the airport...so you'll hear airplanes (daytime)
Request a room towards the back of the motel (further back from busy Fremont Ave.)
Fridge in room and coffee maker in room.
Equipped for scuba divers

All in all an ok place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstlvk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Don't know if it was a misunderstanding on my part or the gentleman on the phone. Originally booked room with fireplace but a friend decided up join us so I called to book a room with two queen size beds. Gentleman who answered the phone suggested two bedroom cottage as it would give us more room. I am positive he said it had a sitting room. Well, we were very disappointed. You walk right into a bedroom. This room was small, had a hard time to find a place to put your suitcase. Back bedroom had two single beds, ok for kids but not another adult. No sitting room. Had a table with 2 chairs. But this table and chairs were right up against the bed. We felt very crowed. This was not a free standing cottage but apart of the motel. Motel was clean and the bathroom had been renovated. Lady at front desk very helpful and friendly. We would probably not stay here again. This was our first time to the area and California. Felt to cramp in our "cottage".

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthego2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Everything was there even the dryer for hair, very clean and quite!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownfrangetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After looking at several hotels and motels for our anniversary retreat, Lone Oak Lodge sounded like the best option for an overnight trip. I made my reservations with Lori and she informed me that she had a room with a king size bed, jacuzzi, and gas fireplace. This included 2 two day tickets to the aquarium.
When we checked in Lori suggested a great restaurant for a lovely anniversary dinner, and gave us a tip for ordering off of the locals menu.
The room was very clean, but it did not have a jacuzzi. I checked with the front desk and was given the key to the door for the in room jacuzzi. What a pleasant surprise. The jacuzzi had a room of it's own between the bedroom and bathroom. So nice to enjoy after a day of walking.
The in room coffee produced actual coffee, not water with a coffee taste. The room was quiet, we didn't hear any outside noises, and the bed was quite comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again if we are in that area, and recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: The king size suite with the jacuzzi and fireplace provide a relaxing and romantic retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a very well maintained old motel, but the towels, the quiet, the cleanliness is very 5 star feel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you so much for the nice compliment! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed in room 32 from 3/8/ 2012 to 3/10/2012. The rooms were shall we say dated, but they were awesomely clean. On the day we were leaving, the housekeeping staff was washing the curtains and rehanging them. When was the last time you saw that! The place is like a step back in time, old TVs, bathrooms laid out like the 70's including my favorite: the timed heating bulb! Lots of tradespeople staying while we were there and the neighborhood seemed a little off. As a woman traveling by myself, I'm not sure I would stop, but with a group as I was, the place was a hidden gem. I didn't dive while there but could see that the place was set up perfect for the dive vacationer. Internet worked great. We paid $80 a night. Not sure what other places in the area go for, but I guess for Monterey it was a real bargain. I wish upper scale hotels would learn to clean like the crew at Lone Oak Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killybeggs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful housekeeping compliment. I will pass it along to our staff. You will be happy to know that we are currently doing a few room upgrades before summer starts. One of the upgrades are new flat screen televisions in all rooms, along with new sinks, base cabinets and faucets in most bathrooms and reupholstering all of the large room chairs. Replacing the older televisions really makes a difference, it looks so nice! Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA and HRS so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing