We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trial run”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cordova
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trial run”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have a reservation to stay here when I come in October this year for my reunion. Since I came to the peninsula for a weekend trip I decided to stop and see if this was a good choice. After checking the room out I decided to stay for 2 nights. This is an older place but completely redone. The beds are pillow top and very comfortable. All amenities are there, microwave, refrigerator, dvd player, coffee pot, hair dryer and toiletries. The whole room was spotless! And quiet. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. The only thing i didn't like was that the TV was not properly adjusted for the picture size. But then, I wasn't here to watch TV anyway! I came home and called a friend to recommend she stay here too when we come back for the reunion. A great choice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Blues5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review...see you in October
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    343
    66
    15
    14
See reviews for
325
435
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We both loved this location, minutes away from Monterey Bay. Easy access to Rte. 1. Comfortable, well appointed facilities, fridge,microwave in room, and the Spa Room was bliss!!!
Ask for a room at the far end of the property, away from North Fremont traffic. Cabins also a lovely choice!
We will return next winter, if not before.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the property. We had Room 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilipeaceful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for the nice review.....see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Lone Oak Lodge provided everything we needed for a basic overnight while passing through Monterrey. It can be tricky to find, but not impossible to come and go from once you have your bearings. Good value for the price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review! The Lone Oak Lodge is actually fairly centrally located and close to most everything in Monterey....Ask for a map and visitors guide at check, we are always happy to help you find your way around town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just stayed at the Lone Oak Lodge this weekend with our two small children, and we were so comfortable and pleased with our room! Immaculately clean, like others have said, and our room had all up-dated fixtures (sink, shower, etc.). We stayed in a 2-room cottage, which had two twin beds in the front room (where our boys stayed), a queen (?) bed in our separate room, a master bath with bath/shower combo, and a full kitchen. I was surprised at how well-equipped the kitchen was: pots, pans, cooking utensils, plates, silverware, mugs, a toaster, a waffle-maker (!), full-sized fridge, oven/stove, microwave, etc. Not only was the room the most affordable I could find for our family in Monterey, but we saved a lot of money by cooking meals ourselves (though there are amazing places to eat in town, so you'll want to make sure to venture out, too). Also, the Lodge is conveniently located near a bus stop with service directly to the Aquarium, so you don't have to deal with parking down there. So excited to find a great and affordable place to stay in one of our favorite towns! We're already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Cottages are perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allijo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the this great review! You can't beat the Cottages for families. The kitchen will save money in the long run. Having to eat out for every meal can get expensive. Again, thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed overnight in rooms 5 and 6 this past weekend, with my in-laws, while we were vacationing along California route 1. I was a little concerned about what to expect because the room was very inexpensive, and not a chain hotel like we're used to-- and they're accustomed... but this was SUCH a surprise! The room was very clean. There was a little sign, 'cleaned by Andrea', with her contact information in case anything wasn't up to our standards, which seemed impossible. We just kept noticing how clean and neat everything was. Everything about the decoration was pretty bare and a little dated, but not ugly or broken in any way (nice granite bathroom sinks, cute bathroom but the shower head was a little low for my 6' 3'' husband). The bed was SO comfortable and it was freezing outside, but the room was toasty warm. The room came with a microwave and fridge, which was great for late night munchies. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
What a nice review, thank you.....I'll let Andrea know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent the Thanksgiving weekend at Monterey. The Lone Oak Lodge is still the best place ever. The rooms are always clean and neat. Fresh flowers, and the service is great. The cleaning staff comes in every day to clean and freshen the room. Always puts everything back where we had it after cleaning tables and counters. Everyone is always, friendly, polite and courteous. The office staff is very helpful and friendly. THANKS AGAIN EVERYONE!!! We had a wonderful weekend.

Nola

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Happy you had a great stay for Thanksgiving Holiday, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I visit this area often and have always stayed at this motel. This motel is very reasonable priced, and cleaner than a hotel you would pay 4x more for. The owners are so nice and have been there for over 20 years. It is very apparent the housecleaning crew has worked with a manager with high standards. I stay alone and have always felt safe and comfortable. I will continue to stay at this motel as long as I visit Monterey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review.....see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Property: Lone Oak Lodge
Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing