We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and good coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and good coffee”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean and walking distance to amenities. A bit far from main Monterey area... About 30 minutes walk to aquarium and sights.

The room was clean and staff friendly. Not many amenities nor anything special. But it's tastefully decorated and feels perfectly fine. Low maintenance rental with comfortable place to sleep and rest on the coastal drive from San Fran to LA.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    146
    66
    14
    13
See reviews for
64
128
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Farmer's Market, and Cannery Row. Cannery Row was a bit of a hike, but we needed the walk after all the meals out! Excellent value for the area. We were happy that we chose to stay there over the Carmel area. We had a queen bed with a twin for our college aged daughter. It was a perfect set up. The motel isn't located in the "touristy" area, but served our needs over a much more expensive place right in the middle of things which could have proven noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crhbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We loved the spacious room which was clean and the wifi fast and free. The Inn was close to the beach and fisherman's wharf and we loved the 17 mile drive in Pebble Beach. There were wonderful otters and seals galore!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This place is one of the best hotels I've stayed at. Rooms were very clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The lady at reception was amazing!!! We called up from the visitors centre and she said she would have a room ready for us to check in straight away which was before check in time. She also gave us great advice of what to see and do. I highly recommend this hotel. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Apez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha p, Owner at Inn By The Bay Monterey, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review. We take pride in our cleanliness and comfort of stay. We hope you will come stay with us again.

Nisha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In a good location it is easy to visit carmel and Monterrey. The bed was very big and confortable.
The breackfast wasn't special, but ok. The staff was friendly and helped us with some maps and tips about the big sur and the beatiful 17mile drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and included a small table and 2 chairs. We had a peek - a - boo view of the Pacific and our room overlooked a yard with pretty landscaping. We were happy to have a small refrigerator in our room. Flower boxes and good parking completed a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. Very clean. Highly recommended! Great location. Very good. I honestly recommend this place. Love the location. Well maintained.

I am trying to submit the review to help travelers.

This little place is worth it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank claug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.1 mi away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#25 of 56 in Monterey
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 56 in Monterey
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Property: Inn By The Bay Monterey
Address: 936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing