We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place”
Review of Munras Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Munras Inn
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I was here for two nights in July 2014 and all was well. My room was clean, I had a fireplace and that was nice.

The staff was friendly. It's REALLY quiet here despite being close to a busy street.

This nice place is close enough to all the usual places you want to see in Monterey. The wifi is ok.

I'll probably be back here in the future.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Herod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for two nights. We didn't expect luxury at this budget priced motel, but the bed was very uncomfortable, the wifi didn't reach the rooms, and breakfast was essentially nonexistent - coffee and packaged Danish. The fridge, microwave, coffee maker and gas fireplace are nice, and the bathroom has plenty of room. If breakfast and wifi are advertised, they should be better.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tjs1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was definitely not worth the money

* There are no elevators
* The "breakfast" was awful -- essentially fruit and a basket of prepackaged snacks
* It was a warm day and the room had no AC or fan to vent the humidity of a shower
* The parking spots are very tight
* We had a bad experience with the front desk's customer service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJenkins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Vagabond Inn is a nice clean hotel located in a very convenient neighborwood. We were given a good spacious room with a big confortable bed and a charming fireplace. There is only one major drawback: the room has a big high window with absolutely no curtains. As a consequence, it is very difficult to sleep past 6 AM . Breakfast is taken standing at the recepcion and is a bit too simple.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaviogaiarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very quiet and a great location. Loved the fireplaces in the rooms. Breakfast was okay, not the best. We ended up going to Denny's down the road. Overall, it was a great experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel one night with a friend on our way to a Big Sur roadtrip! At first I was a bit unsure, because I had never heard about "Vagabond Inn" hotels, but we really liked the place.

Location is really convenient, you can easily get "downtown" in 10 mins (lots of restaurants, including a really good one, Montrio!).

Service was good, although we found the breakfast very basic and that could be improved.

Bed was very comfortable. The room is nice, although the one we had felt a bit small (but we didn't mind because we were only there in and out to sleep). Clean and everything!

Would recommend if you're staying in Monterey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We choose this Inn totally by accident (there's many to choose from on that street), but were so happy with the experience that can totally recommend the place to everybody. We asked for room prices and got a real nice and big room (with fireplace) for the price we would've paid just for a normal motel room somewhere else. Wifi worked well, service was super friendly and the place was tidy. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miukumau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#29 of 56 in Monterey
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munras Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munras Inn

Address: 1010 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Monterey)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £77 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Munras Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munras Inn located 2 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, We serve daily continental breakfast and offers guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Free Parking for guests during their stay. We are conveniently located in downtown Monterey. Short distance to the beach, Old Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Shopping and Dining. Outside Sun Deck. Our large spacious rooms include: fireplaces, microwaves, refrigerators, televisions, expanded cable and HBO, iron and ironing boards, alarm clocks, in room telephones, wake up service, personal concierge and more. Some adjoining rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Munras Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing