We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't expect it to be this nice!”
Review of Munras Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Munras Inn
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Didn't expect it to be this nice!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a event nearby and being only a two star hotel I wasn't expect that much but I was in for a surprise! Upon checking in the place seemed nice but nothing to over the top and it is on a VERY busy street but the gentleman that helped me was VERY nice and we discuss about the event I was attending. He made me feel right at home and describe where the room was very accurately. They had a breakfast area which consisted of bagged cinnamon rolls, some fruit and coffee. Also there was a outside sitting area with plenty of places to sit but no view of anything expect the hotel property and the other business nearby/
The room was on the bottom floor which at first I wasn't all that comfortable with but there was parking right outside the room and it was covered so from the side street it wasn't to bad as far as being safe. The room was on the large size with a table, two chairs, fridge and microwave. The TV was a great size with plenty of channels to choose from. The negative side was that there was a fireplace but between me and my other travel companion we could not figure out how to use it. Since it was on the bottom floor the view was of a wall, another business and a tiny garden. So if your there for the view look else where. Also even though we were near the street you could only hear it if the window was open. Other then that the room was VERY quiet and I got a good night sleep every night.
The property was split to two buildings and the soda machine was in my building and the ice machine was on the other which was a little confusing the first night. Also the parking lot is a tad small but since it wasn't sold out we always found a place to park. Also if your worried about parking downtown Monterey isn't to far away so if your up for some exercise you can walk there with the surrounding area being just fine to do it in.
The Vagabond Inn Monterey is a great choice to stay if your looking for someplace cheap and simple and that's not far away from anything nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    68
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
45
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We come to Monterey to relaxx this motel is perfect..The beds are comfy...very romantic...My husband and I love the area close to restaurants ect..the front desk is always kind and always making us feel welcome!! Thank u

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were delighted by the spacious room, the bathroom, the fireplace and the view over the bay. The service was also great and the staff was very hospitable. All in all, a lovely and cozy place to stay, especially when the fog is rolling in in Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beciasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights here and the room was excellent value for money, spotless clean and very roomy. The location is superb and for the price it would be hard to get a better room for double the price in the town centre. The receptionist was extremely friendly and had superb local knowledge and could not have been more helpful.
I'd highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Monterey.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mabozzaritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I was here for two nights in July 2014 and all was well. My room was clean, I had a fireplace and that was nice.

The staff was friendly. It's REALLY quiet here despite being close to a busy street.

This nice place is close enough to all the usual places you want to see in Monterey. The wifi is ok.

I'll probably be back here in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Herod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. We didn't expect luxury at this budget priced motel, but the bed was very uncomfortable, the wifi didn't reach the rooms, and breakfast was essentially nonexistent - coffee and packaged Danish. The fridge, microwave, coffee maker and gas fireplace are nice, and the bathroom has plenty of room. If breakfast and wifi are advertised, they should be better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tjs1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was definitely not worth the money

* There are no elevators
* The "breakfast" was awful -- essentially fruit and a basket of prepackaged snacks
* It was a warm day and the room had no AC or fan to vent the humidity of a shower
* The parking spots are very tight
* We had a bad experience with the front desk's customer service

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJenkins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munras Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munras Inn

Property: Munras Inn
Address: 1010 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Monterey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Munras Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munras Inn located 2 miles away from the Monterey Bay Aquarium, We serve daily continental breakfast and offers guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Free Parking for guests during their stay. We are conveniently located in downtown Monterey. Short distance to the beach, Old Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Shopping and Dining. Outside Sun Deck. Our large spacious rooms include: fireplaces, microwaves, refrigerators, televisions, expanded cable and HBO, iron and ironing boards, alarm clocks, in room telephones, wake up service, personal concierge and more. Some adjoining rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Munras Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing