We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for your buck in Monterey”
Review of Villa Franca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Franca Inn
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This little inn is a fantastic choice for those traveling on a budget. Location is even within a young person's walking distance from cannery row. The innkeeper couldn't be more pleasant and even bakes homemade muffins for breakfast each morning. There's a long string of cheap hotels along this same street, and for the price and hospitality at Eldorado, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We wound up at the El Dorado Inn after the hotel next door was over booked and they moved us here. Updated bathrooms. Clean rooms. Mattress was ok, but slept comfortable.

The nicest part was the manager who left they keys for us and the light on in our room so we would feel welcome. Met her the next morning...Lovely woman who wanted to make sure you felt welcome. Breakfast was yummy. Amazing home cooked muffins, oatmeal, hard boule eggs, toast, fresh cut fruit and coffee. Felt like I was in a bread and breakfast and not in a motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This little gem is recently updated and it shows. It's conveniently located and right on the main road. Surprisingly you can hear cars, but didn't really notice it too much. The new owner has done a marvelous job of updating everything in the rooms. Very clean and very nice. Our room upstairs on the corner by the office was spacious enough for 3 adults. We had 3 windows so you didn't feel confined. The room had a fireplace, 2 queen beds, a refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and thoughtfully made. The manager/owner is onhand to help with suggestions and nice conversation, sweet lady. She tried to vary the morning offerings and makes them herself. Her muffins are made in a healthy manor and not too sweet with great ingredients. It's not a big buffet, but a smaller, very adequate offering for your start for the day. You can just take it up to your room. We had breakfast included at the other 3 hotels we stayed at. This was the nicest. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice accomodations at a great price. Close to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Two delightful ladies own and run this small motel. It has a little bit of an English Tearoom atmosphere. The rooms were spotless and included a refrigerator. Our kingsize bed was very comfortable. No pool and limited TV channels. Breakfast included steel cut oatmeal (nothing instant!) with an assortment of toppings, freshly baked muffins from their own recipes, bagels, orange slices, toast, juice and coffee. The ladies are also a good source of local information. In addition, when we forgot some items in the closet, they called us and offered to mail them to us. They wanted to cover the cost themselves! We had to be quite insistent about taking care of this expense. Need less to say, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Book ahead if possible. Ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at this hotel. The location is very convenient, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the homemade breakfast muffins are amazing. Sharon, the manager, is very friendly and made us feel welcome. This hotel is not plush but has everything you need for a comfortable stay and is very affordable. I would definitely stay here again. TK

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treva60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you're looking for the Fairmont, this isn't it. But if you are looking for clean comfortable accommodation you've come to the right place.

This is a small motel located down the street from a shopping mall in Monterey and conveniently located a short drive from Cannery Row.

Sharon, the new manager took over operation of the place 8 months ago. In that time 13 of the establishment's 15 rooms have been renovated.

I stayed in a sparkling clean, newly renovated room on the second floor complete with flat screen TV and functioning wood fireplace. The spacious restroom has no bathtub but a nifty new shower stall with a monster shower head. it's like showering in a warm rain.

There is no breakfast room at this boutique motel. But a grab and go breakfast is offered in the office featuring fresh fruit, hot cereal, hard boiled eggs and homemade muffins. It's healthy and good.

The staff here are friendly and efficient.

If I am in Monterey again I will stay here. I found it to be great value for the money.

Room Tip: Four of fifteen rooms have fireplaces. Ask for one of these if you are looking for a little ambience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedalcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stopped in Monterey after driving up the PCH and found this place by chance. Very warm reception by the owner and staff, very affordable and room was comfortable and foreseen of all amenities. Shower was brand new and amazing, breakfast was free of charge and freshly prepared. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotjeChili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#29 of 56 in Monterey
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 56 in Monterey
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Franca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Franca Inn

Address: 900 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly El Dorado Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £48 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Franca Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independently owned, 15 room inn. We have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, TV's, clock radios and hair dryers in each room. Our free WI-FI is a commercial grade quality. Free parking is included Check in is from 3-9 pm and check out is 11 am. We're 4 blocks from downtown and 9 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. We can order 2-dayAquarium tickets for you online with a valid credit card. For a bit of hominess, come stay with us!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Franca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing