We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del Monte Pines”
Review of Del Monte Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Del Monte Pines
Ranked #10 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Del Monte Pines”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the worst in a long time. Rating was 5.7, should have been a 2.
The Registration staff was most unfriendly, did not speak to us when we asked to see the room.
The looby had a very bad curry odor and was dirty.
The room smelled musty and looked dirty,the lightswitch did not work. We had to go to the bedside to turn on the light, we did not stay. The Hotel charged us $ 125 and we did not get reimbursed by book.com.
Be aware

Room Tip: Do not trust the ratings and do not give card informations to the hotel until you have actually seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaiandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    41
    32
    69
See reviews for
45
78
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I booked this place before reading other reviews, otherwise we would not have stayed there. The owner is not at all friendly or helpful and has no people skills. I wonder why is is in the hotel business, as he seems to dislike having to deal with his guests.

first impression of the room was that it was dated and in need of renovation. Although fairly clean, the bed cover and cushions looked grubby, so we threw them off the bed. Luckily, the sheets and pillowcases were clean.

the a/c unit in our room was in the bathroom, which meant the bathroom door had to be left open in order to get any cooling in the room.

When we enquired about breakfast, we were told it must be collected from reception and eaten in our room as there was no dining facility. 'Breakfast' consisted of muffins and what appeared to be orange squash. That was it - no toast or coffee etc.

Over all, even at the prices charged, this place is poor value for money. Better to spend a few dollars more and get a place with proper facilities and friendly management.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplepiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

To be fair, we were placed in this motel at the last minute by Hotwire, when the place we originally booked refused to honor the "enough beds for all occupants" Hotwire guarantee, and we felt it was important for our 17-year-old daughter to have her own bed. We should have given more thought to what type of place has vacancies at the last minute on a Saturday night in Monterey, in August. This was the worst dump we have ever stayed in.the first room they gave us had a rusted out-fridge and a lamp with no way to turn it on. We insisted on another room,and the room they gave us looked marginally better, but it was still a mess. Furniture that was cheap in the 1970's, and has not been changed. Threadbare sheets that were at least 15 years old. The cockroach that my husband killed in bed at 4:30 in the morning. We got almost no sleep and left as soon as we could. Run, don't walk, from this dive.

Room Tip: There is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very blunt on the telephone, mr personality. Wouldn't recommend.
We called to apologise and change the booking, due to a mix up of dates (our Fault) The owner/manager was most unhelpful, only interested in charging our card, "as it is hotel policy" "no refunds due to late cancelation", no alternative date was offered, he missed an opportunity to book us (6 adults) in for a later date and win a loyal customer. We found later in the week there were still rooms available at the hotel, so his loss.....

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harrycetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This motel is priced attractively, but you don't want to stay there. It doesn't strike an impression as a bad place, but there is a combination of little things that make it not good.
Here's why travelers should avoid it:
There is some strange sound at night, like a washing machine that won't turn off, or sewer pipes are not insulated *at all*. If somebody on the other end of the building takes a shower, you hear it. At 2am. Yes.
Fridges in the room and a/c units are noisy. If you want to sleep on a hot night, tough choice.
Rooms themselves are small, the window will be right next to the door, I felt claustrophobic inside. Humid and dark after a long day.
No pool, no spa, no fitness, no nothing.
Shopping is close, but still you'd have to drive.
Management isn't very attentive to your issues. Don't expect them to respond to anything.

Room Tip: Pay an extra $20 for a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Like almost every review here (unless your Indian) I have to say the manager possesses zero customer service skills.
I won't bore you with details, save to say our experience matched the other negative comments here.
Also. Wifi is rubbish. I overheard the manager tell another guest "sometimes we have it, sometimes we don't", the room wasn't dirty but it was old and tired looking and smelled a bit smoky.
Continental breakfast begs the question from which continent exactly? It consisted of stale chocolate cake and orange juice. On a tray. In the reception area. That stinks like a curry house (and I love curry but come on!)
Other guests were drunk and noisy and some stupid woman constantly forgot where her friends were staying and kept trying to get into our room.
Choose the another motel further down the road. For the same price you'll get better service and a pool.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here thru booking.com where it was advertised as a $270 room for $91. Although the office displayed multiple "no smoking" signs, it smelled like an incense fumigation chamber and the walls oozed curry stink. In order to get Wifi or cell reception you had to be close to the smelly lobby,although judging by the number of guests texting from their cars, they preferred the parking lot. The room was a definite surprise - large holes in the carpet, filthy table and bacteria lined shower curtain. Shame on booking.com for allowing this abuse of a hotel to misrepresent itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Monte Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Monte Pines

Property: Del Monte Pines
Address: 1298 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6180
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Monte Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Del Monte Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Monte Pines Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing