We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for One Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Del Monte Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Del Monte Pines
Ranked #10 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fine for One Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

We spent several days at this motel many years ago and decided to try it again. The outside has manicured flowers and plants. It appears to be independently owned, and in talking with the desk clerk by the same owner for many years. The location is central to Monterey on a street lined with similar type hotels. We got a discounted price for the "Honeymoon Room" with jacuzzi. Since this is an end room the fence next to our room had two bags of dirty laundry left adjacent to us. This is an old hotel and the furnishings and bed showed it. The king bed was lumpy and interior is out-dated. Some wall outlets are not three pronged, so my laptop was plugged away from the desk and table. Old TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee makers on the bathroom counter. Rugs are old and extremely worn with rips and tears throughout. Jacuzzi ran fine and was relaxing. The breakfast is very basic and not inviting served in the small office counter area. Better to eat at a restaurant. We only stayed here for old times sake, so it was okay and ignored the archaic condition.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    41
    32
    69
See reviews for
45
78
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel-aviv, israel
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

The rooms are big and comfortable and accessorized with microwave, refrigerator and really good bath!
moreover, it's located in the central of the city and close to the fishermen's wharf,the marina and the shopping center (by car..)
the price we payed was a bit expanssive (100$ per night) but only because we were in Monterey in the yearly Jazz weekend.
the only problem with the service was that there was no remote for the t.v and after tellling the manager about it he didn't do a thing..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadavpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

My Family stayed at the Del Monte Pines for one night August 6 2009. It was clean, the bathroom very small. Some of the furniture was broken. We did not like the workers staring in our room as we moved our stuff in. I have two daughters it made us feel a little creeped out. The breakfast was costco muffins and juice. For one night it was o.k. for longer stays I would stay some where else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LihueGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

The owners of the Hotel couldn't have been more accommodating,
displaying a warm, inviting friendliness, and a knowledge of the area and local eateries, the times they closed etc.
For the excellent price they gave us, we were able to afford two rooms instead of having to share one.
Not expecting much more than a Motel 6 for that price,
we were amazed to find really pleasant rooms, with coffee maker, small fridge, hair dryer and a bath tub!!! All worked!!
Continental breakfast was also included.
We really felt treated like family, even meeting the owner's small grandson! Such a joy having that intimacy with the owners,
it was almost like staying in their private home.
The only drawback: The pouring rain created many puddles in the
parking area, and we got wet feet, but then again, that could happen anywhere :-)
Highly recommend staying there, we plan on it again
in the future.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the owners and the cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — climbing the flight of stairs with my luggage
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContentedTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

Drove up around 6pm, and there was a large group partying. They partied into the night. Was not conducive for getting some sleep before scuba diving the next day. Room was just okay with beds not very comfortable. We checked out after one night and found something quieter.

Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thefields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend towards the end of a long road trip and thoroughly enjoyed the stay here. We checked in late, around 10pm, but had made advanced reservations online. Checking in was easy, just fill out my name on a card and the lady handed me the room key to a room upstairs.

The room was very nice and included a gas fireplace in the corner of the room towards the foot of the bed, a King size bed, TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, desk and a couple of chairs. The decor of the room seemed to reminisce a honeymoon love suite. Everything was pink and red, even the pillowcases! Even though I would never have my bedroom decorated in this scheme, I didn't mind it too much especially since my girlfriend loved it.

A few nitpicky things that I didn't like about the place are that the showerhead needed a good cleaning. Nothing is more unsatisfying than taking a shower and staring at a dingy and slightly lime scaled shower head. The fireplace worked perfectly, but it didn't do much to heat the room and it seemed that most of the heat was escaping up the chimney. A quiet fan built into the fireplace would be more helpful in making the fireplace more than a atmospheric novelty. There was some thick blue tape in plain view of the room that seems to be keeping a door to the TV cabinet open.

Overall, the room quality was very good by my standards and we had a good night's rest for a great price in Monterey.

  • Liked — The value for such a nice room
  • Disliked — The dirty showerhead
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpatulaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2008

I booked this place because it was the cheapest motel I could find in Monterey. My expectations were low (which is appropriate when you book the cheapest motel you can find).

However, I was shocked by the Del Monte Pines. For a cheap motel, it was really nice! The owners obviously take great pride in their property. The room had wonderful bed spreads with decorative pillows, and the tile in the bathroom looked new. The place was very clean. It even had a little refrigerator and microwave. Overall, it was much, much better than the cheap motel I was expecting.

Make no mistake that this is a low-end accommodation. If you can afford the Ritz, then stay there. But if you are looking for a cheap motel, you can't get any better than this!!!

  • Liked — Dirt cheap compared to motels 3 miles away in Carmel
  • Disliked — no complaints - exceeded my expectations
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_and_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#32 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Monte Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Monte Pines

Property: Del Monte Pines
Address: 1298 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6180
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Monte Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Del Monte Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Monte Pines Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing