We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    272
    134
    25
    17
See reviews for
173
290
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the Monterey Super 8 for 3 nights in mid April. The room had ample space, everything was very clean, and the bathroom was extra large. Even though the hotel was close to a busy road, running the ac/fan all night kept all the noise out. We slept great :) The breakfast was not anything to speak of, however Denny's is right across the street. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our team has been staying at Bindu"s Super 8 for years now. Boy, talk about amazing customer service. She has helped us arrange group dinners, reccomened our favorite local breakfast spot and is just really kind. The rooms are clean, quiet and some have a microwave and small fridge. This year we will have stayed there three separate times. great location to Laguna Seca and downtown Monterey without the hefty price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and staying with us several times this year. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was in town for an event and just needed a place with self parking, a clean room, and low cost. This was one of only maybe three hotels in town that were still available and had the best reviews for cleanliness so I went with it. It's exactly what you'd expect from a motel, strip of rooms, single story, parking for each of them. Inside of my room was very clean, no stains, no mold, nothing weird, other than having an empty mini-fridge AND a microwave (not a bad thing). Shower worked, water was hot, A/C unit worked, bed was just a bed, not particularly nice but sheets were clean and nothing torn or stained. I give it 4* for being as advertised, the right price, and exactly what I needed.
If you're here on vacation and care what's around the popular part of Monterey is a 5-10 minute drive plus parking. There's a couple decent restaurants walking distance as well as liquor and pharmacy/CVS. The hotel is very near the airport so louder propeller planes are quite audible but do not occur during main sleeping hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebigcafeteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found our property met your expectations. As you mentioned, we are located close to the Monterey Airport and on occasion may here a plane fly by. Fortunately, the air traffic is very limited and ends at nighttime. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

A little out of town but for the price you can't ask for more. If you have a car easy drive back into town. The owners are lovely, the room clean and breakfast although basic was enough to get you started for the day. Was going to stay one night but ended up staying another.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our property. We appreciate you feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It is a beautiful, small, well maintained and superbly managed by Mr. Haren & Mrs. Bindu. The room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The best part was the customer service. Their customer service will help those who have lost their faith in the customer service to restore it back.
Thanks again to Mr. Haren & Mrs. Bindu for making our stay pleasant. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and experienced excellent customer service. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Property: Super 8 Monterey
Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing