We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, cheap and comfortable”
Review of Super 8 Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, cheap and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for one night after travelling from LA to SF via Highway 1. The lady behind the counter was lovely and very helpful. The room was clean, quiet and hygienic. We found a coupon so the rate was excellent. A nice continental breakfast had us going on our way in no time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are glad you had a great experience at our property and enjoyed the service. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    271
    134
    25
    16
See reviews for
172
290
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we couldn't of expected a nicer welcome.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, more like a hotel than motel.
The owners couldn't have been more helpful, going out of their way to make our stay perfect.
Would definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the value and service. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

OK motel in Monterey. It is located near all the other motels in an inconvenient part of town so you need a car. Reasonably good value at US$120 but under a hundred would've been more fair. 

Pros
Cheap-ish

Cons
Inconvenient, drab location 
Mildly standoffish service
Dull rooms in need of a refresh

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ste7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you had a mediocre experience at our property. Your feedback is extremely valuable and we will use it for further property improvements. Thank you again and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

So I had booked a reservation 4 days in advance thru the 800 number. They assured me the room I had reserved was a conjoined 2 bedroom with 1 king bed in each room. I came to the motel to find out the person I spoke with reserved 2 SEPARATE ROOMS THAT WERE NOT CONNECTED!!! What the French toast?! The man at the front then told me that they only had one type of room with combined rooms separated by a door but it had already been booked, however he said since we got here first he would give us the room and switch the other guests with other rooms. He was so nice and welcoming, so was his wife. They were all so nice and great!! I will staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad our staff was able to accommodate you in a connecting room. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our room was great, with two beds and a sliding door in between, so great for two couples as there was extra privacy. Good location, and great complementary breakfast. Reasonably priced. The bathroom was large and clean. Our room did not get replacement towels and the beds did not get made for the second night we were there, however the staff were appologetic and said they would look into it. A simple mistake I am sure.

Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8Monterey, Manager at Super 8 Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank your for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found our property to be great and I apologize that our housekeeping staff didn't service you room. We have placed additional measures in place to ensure that this isn't repeated. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey

Property: Super 8 Monterey
Address: 2120 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#18 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing