We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's sleep... almost too good!”
Review of HI Monterey Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HI Monterey Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here in October 2013 with a friend whilst road tripping through California, north to south. We found this hostel pretty easy to find once you've got the hand of their one way roads, and were relieved to see they have plenty of free parking (it is open though). It is located about 5 minutes walk up hill away from the sea front.

The hostel is quite small (maybe 20 beds in total) and pretty quiet as it has a generous living room with free wi-fi throughout. When we arrived we thought it may be boring, and in fact it was too quiet. There were a few other people around (aged from 18 - 60) but like the rest of Monterey - not much going on! I'd stay here if you want to visit Monterey's gorgeous coastline and world famous aquarium, but think again if you want to drink/party/go out past midnight etc...! In the end we just stayed two nights and then moved on farther south.

The showers and bathrooms are good, although you get tokens limiting you to 5 minutes of hot water per token. You get given two tokens per day upon check in. However if you ask nicely in your best English accent you can get a few more!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelsforLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for HI Monterey Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Everything you could hope for. Great location, friendly staff and good facilities. I was in the mixed dorm, it was spacious and quiet. The common areas are fantastic. Huge lounge room with comfy sofa's and the kitchen is excellent. Free breakfast in the morning was great, pancakes, oatmeal and toast. Overall a fantastic stay, could not fault anything!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My first time in a hostel and I'm afraid I may have been spoiled. My wife and I stayed over Labor Day Weekend as a prelude to trying Hostels in Ireland next spring. We are both in our 60's and were a little concerned we might be out of place and also about privacy. Firstly there were others there our age and older, and privacy, although in a dorm of 16 did not bother us at all. Everyone does their own thing. The bathrooms are at the end of the hall and are NOT coed. The showers are singles. The place was clean and attractive, the hosts were friendly and helpful, the other guests were well behaved and friendly and having a good time. The hostel is only a few blocks from Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquarium and maybe a mile from Fisherman Warf. If the other HI Hostels are half as nice as this one we are really going to enjoy trying them out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

160$ for two bunk beds in a tiny room was a real scam compared to every other single room accommodation we encountered during our 17 days trip in Southwestern US. The only good point was localisation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice cosy hostel with big living room and clean kitchen. You can make your own pancakes for breakfast there and they have distiller water for free. Tom was the reception when I checked in, he was professional and showed me all the facilities in the hostel with emphasise of after-hours quiet times. Met Lora the next morning and she gave me tips what to do and see in Monterey and highway 1.

This hostel was a good place to relax after long day of driving along Hwy1.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PigletLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here one night while touring Northern Cal. The hostel was clean and quiet. We are a family of 4 and had a private room and a shared bath. It was perfect for our needs and very convenient to the aquarium, cannery row and an easy walk to the wharf. No worries about parking, just leave it at the hostel and walk everywhere. This was one of 5 different hostels we stayed at during our trip. I would stay here again. The manager was great and allowed us to use his member passes to the aquarium, saving us a good chunk of change!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I staied here one night when I was going down from San Francisco to LA. This was the best hostel along the way. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast with complementery panncakes is great! And they have a big parking area connected to the house. It was just great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
1.5 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Monterey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Monterey Hostel

Address: 778 Hawthorne St, Monterey, CA 93940-1102
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Monterey
Price Range: £58 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Monterey Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fun and economic way to visit Monterey Bay! Just 3 blocks to the beach, Aquarium, Cannery Row, restaurants, nightlife, recreation trail, there's plenty to do and see here. Bike, hike, dive, surf, kayak, museums, art galleries. Private rooms, dorm beds, and group dorms. Free parking, WiFi, and pancake breakfast all included. You'll be pleasantly surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your HI Monterey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing