We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homemade, fresh, green style feed”
Review of Paprika Cafe

Paprika Cafe
Ranked #104 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Homemade, fresh, green style feed”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem. The food is fresh, wholesome and home made. Great vegetarian options.

The food is Greek style and the dining is casual.

The place is very small, maybe 15 seats or so. So get here early.

I am going back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieBatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a tiny gem”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

There are only about 14 seats in this little place, but the food packs a big punch. The friendly man who waits on you is also the one cooking your food (at least, he was when we stopped in), so service can be a bit erratic. As in, you might order an iced tea right when you sit down, but you may not receive it until the food arrives. No biggie. The food overcomes any oddities with the service.

I had one of the $12 combo plates, and it was way more than I could eat. Everything was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the hummus and warm pita. The free nibble of baklava at the end of the meal was the perfect amount.

I would guess this place has a wait sometimes due to a) its size and b) how good the food is. I think it's worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, pricey”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Food was good, but given the ambience it was on the pricier side. Staff was friendly. This place could probably accommodate 10-15 people at a time. They gave us free baklava after our dinner which I thought was nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yatrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we made the hike.”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This tiny cafe crowded into a plaza with other shops and homes was the perfect start to our visit. The waitress was polite and patient and brought us steaming plates of chicken and schawerma and free pistachio baklava. Half the menu is vegetarian and the food is delicious! Seating was cramped but would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peacekaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Lebonese food on the planet”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Tried this place based on TA reviews with visiting east coast friends. The café is quite small, very authentic, with the best food EVER. The garlic sauce is delicious and rich. The owner/operator, Christof, is the chef and the only person working here. Everything is touched by his exquisite and talented hands. Everything, except the pita, is handmade by him. He takes great pride in the authenticity of his food and the rewards of this is one of the best meal we've ever had in California. Deep words, I know, but the food is such a stand-out, we were talking about it all afternoon. It was a truly memorable meal shared with friends. I had the combo plate of garlic chicken and lamb, husband had a salad with delicious meat on top. Friends shared the garlic chicken platter. Keep in mind this is NOT an 'ambiance' restaurant - it's quaint, small, authentic, wonderful. Nothing fancy here except the spectacular food. I'm just so bummed that it's 2 hours away from us or this is a place we would go to 2-3 times a week. Yes - it's that good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumper E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paprika Cafe also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Paprika Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing