We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining with Entertainment”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Ranked #111 of 301 Restaurants in Monterey
Price range: US$9 - US$43
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dining with Entertainment”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Friendly staff, we were seated within 5-6 minutes with no reservation. It took awhile before the chef came to our table. There seemed to be only a few chefs. The food was great once we got started. We enjoyed our dinner very much. Everything was cooked just right.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen_Calif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinning experiences”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My family loves this Japanese restaurant. Almost every time we tour the Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey, we would remind ourselves to dine in Benihana, only 3-4 minutes' walk away from the Wharf and the Marriott Hotel in town. We feel like we would not only eat but also enjoy ourselves to wrap up the tour by the gulf.

We all love the lunch boat with a variety of foods placed artistically on it. I hate to miss any, but here is the long list, which includes meat of choice (fish, teriyaki chicken, etc.), 2 fired jumble shrimp, 3-4 fried vegetables, 4 sushi's, a small portion of red tuna and tilapia, boiled pea-pots, and half orange, not to mention a bowl of rice to go with it.

If you're in a hurry, you may just chat with your family or friends for a few minutes while sipping the Japanese tea, and the soup and salad and the "boat" would be on your table. If you don't like greasy food, this is your place. As for the price of a lunch meal, $13 would do for a meal+tax+tip. Now, you may know why we truly enjoy dinning here in a vocation resort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining Dining”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Benihana is a long established restaurant chain that provides wonderful food while the chef entertains you with his knife skills.
A special occasion restaurant or just stop in for lunch you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Entertainment and Delicious Food”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Geronimo was the best. He made the lobster perfect! Flavorful, succulent and buttery. The steak was tender and medium just the way we like it. There was so much food we had left overs for the next day and then some. Service was excellent and really appreciated the host coming around to ask how we enjoyed our dinner. Will return again and on an empty stomach

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Even the owner helps”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The food was good but I was impressed by the owner. She came out to assist the chefs. She greeted us warmly and even took a group photo of us which she offered to us after dinner. The other wait staff was also helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank di0nec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing