We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“depends on location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Bikes

Bay Bikes
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“depends on location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

we rented a tandem bike from Monterey. it was reasonably priced. when we asked the guy there, he was sort of indifferent. when we asked him if we could do 17 mile he said we could ride to san francisco if we wanted. so we biked all the way to carmel on a tandem, which my husband found to be very difficult as he was doing most of the work :). When we got to Carmel, my husband suggested we go to the bay bikes there. Jerry was surprised that the guy at Monterey didn't warn us about the ride as it could've been potentially dangerous as some of the streets didn't have bike paths and had some hills. Jerry was extremely friendly and helpful. He called us a cab and we dropped off the bikes in Carmel and cabbed back to Monterey. Bike was in good condition and came with helmets and bike lock. we are not avid or expert bikers so some more information prior to our bikeride would've been useful. keep in mind that we are fit 30 year olds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fancynancytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Bike Rentals!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Found this place and was able to rent a hybrid for the day. Rates were very reasonable and great customer service. I ended up biking from Monterey to Carmel along 17 Mile Drive.

Would use these guys again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljt064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Rented hybrid bikes to cycle 17 Mile Dive. "Will" who works at Washington St location was super helpful and attentive to get us the right fitting bikes. Will knows the terrain and distances really well and gave good advice. You will need hybrid to get up hills and inclines along the coast to Carmel. Another plus of Bay Bikes is this location which has trendy cafes on either side. (Refreshing iced latte) And lastly it is less expensive than competitors. Definitely recommend!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toronto5533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for bike rental!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I rented a hybrid bike for 5 days and I was really imnpressed by how well maintained the bike was. Also, staff was very friendly and helpful.
When I go back this is where I will rent the bicycle . Highly recommended!
(The fact that they charge less than the competition doesn't hurt either...)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank asawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely trip round 17 mile drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We rented a couple of road bikes to head out round 17 mile drive. Bikes were ok, specialized allez standard. They could have done with a slight tune up and the rental was on the pricey side. The ride was great though. A really fun and beautiful 3hr round trip ride through a really lovely area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Bikes also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bay Bikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing