We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

El Cantaro Vegan Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife is a vegan and a great cook, so we are spoiled with good home-cooked meals. We don't usually have high expectations for restaurant food, but El Cantaro delivered. The food was great! The staff were all incredibly friendly. Great place to stop for lunch after visiting the aquarium down the street. We were tempted to go back for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flimtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    32
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise- healthy Mexican family run”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Found this amazing Vegan Mexican food clean/ no frill- but good, family run place. Food served fast. No fattening cheese, fat but great for some one who doesn't want to eat animals.
Would have preferred a bit low salad of cabbage etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisasimpson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum - well done”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you want Vegan food, you must swing by for a try. The restaurant is not much to look at and not much of a value, however, the food is excellent for Pseudo-fast food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gsdmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegan Cuisine!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome find. The menu is 100% vegan. All Mexican food - burritos, tacos, nachos, etc. includes vegan dessert. I loved the plantains with ice cream. Yummy! Could eat here regularly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hjhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Find”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I would have never thought to even step foot into a vegan Mexican restaurant. However, I was curious and what a find. I went twice in one week.

I just want to make my way around the menu and try everything:). The flavors hidden in these dishes are incredible.

The only thing they could change is the music. Go non religion.

Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Brinbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cantaro Vegan Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to El Cantaro Vegan Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing