We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.”

The Sardine Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sardine Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 307 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prescott
Transit: MST stop less than 2 blocks away on the corner of Wave St. & David.
Description: Every city has that one can't miss restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in our historic Cannery Row setting a tradition for world leaders, sports heroes and entertainment icons. Our award-winning chefs prepare delectable creations of fresh, sustainable seafood and USDA Prime Dry Aged Beef; winner of Restaurant Hospitality Magazine's "Best Wine List in America" award. The Lounge's live entertainment, Happy Hour and affordable menu are a casual alternative to our other dining rooms. Voted "Best Restaurant in Monterey" by Monterey County Herald and Carmel Pine Cone Readers. Celebrating over 49 years under the same ownership and management!
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Don't be fooled by the exterior, inside the Sardine factory is very atmospheric, they have a number of different seating areas including what looked like a medieval chamber and also a conservatory which we were sat in.

The place was busy as it was Saturday night and prom night so lots of well dressed young men and ladies, we felt decidedly under dressed but were put at ease by the waiter.

The barman produced one of the best piña coladas me and the wife had had, despite a good natured ribbing to me for not drinking a mans drink.

Food was good but quite expensive. We would recommend a trip to the sardine factory.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grgrgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your review.
Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 435 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are locals and last night we had a wonderful meal and extraordinary evening and celebrated my husband's birthday with friends. There is no better waiter than Gary Van den Gries. He is attentive to details, caring, sophisticated without pretentiousness, and knows how to make each meal special. He made our evening perfect. The food was awesome. Our friend had the NY steak and thought it the best he has had, our sand dabs superb, the sauce on the veal delicious, we thought the ice cream lollipops amazing, and as always the abalone soup rich and delicious. The ice sculptures were pretty amazing too. And, it wouldn't be The Sardine Factory without the beautiful generous kind soul of Marty who says "Welcome home" and that is exactly where you feel you are! Thank you Sardine Factory for an impressive total evening. Our out of town guests are already planning their next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you, thank you for your lovely review and loyal patronage! I will pass your comments along to the Chef, Management and Owners so that we may properly praise Gary and Marty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Food was great and decent value for money but the service was a bit up and down. It took ages before anyone attended to us after we had been seated. After giving us the menus they came back pretty quickly to take our orders so we asked for a few more minutes, which we sholdn't have done. I think we waited around 15 minutes before we finally asked for our waiter. All toghether it took 35 minutes from when we sat down till we had placed our orders, which is not OK.

We wanted to order their famous cheese bread as an appetizer but my girlfirend is gluten intolerant so we asked them if they had gluten free bread, which they had! So we ordered one order of that but ended up getting two, one for me on regular bread and one for her on gluten free bread!! +++++

All and all totally worth a visit and probably some of the best food in the area but the service could have been faster.

Thank Raoul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Raoul,

Thank you for your informative review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience! I will pass your comments along to the Chef, Management and Owners. We so appreciate your loyal patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The restaurant is more family friendly than last time we ate here nine years ago. Food is still as good and staff is excellent.

Thank SuziSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your review. It's my daughter's favorite kid's menu! Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

sat way in the back, in the "atrium". Cool decor. I am giving them four stars because while the food was fabulous, felt it was highly priced considering the overall experience. (and two nights later, we ate at an even better place for less money). See my review of Bistro Moulin. We had Bisque, Salinas Salad, Steak & Lobster, Swordfish & Prawns. For dessert, the Arctic Bon Bons, served over dry ice, made a nice presentation and was delicious. I have to admit, we chose expensive items on the menu; maybe we would have felt better about the price we paid if we had eaten something less expensive. Another note: we only had one glass of wine between the two of us. Total bill for two with tip was $211. However, I would recommend this place

Thank MED_Jan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SardineFactory1, Public Relations Manager at The Sardine Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your informative review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are delighted you enjoyed the fresh, sustainable seafood and the USDA Prime beef. Please remember we often have value priced Prix-Fixe menus and a fantastic Happy Hour (in the Lounge 5-7pm daily)! We appreciate your patronage and hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sardine Factory also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to The Sardine Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing